Problems W/ Dragon Quest XI

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
19,926
Trophies
1
XP
12,303
Country
United States
for some reason, I get very low fps with this game. I think I have adequate specs, but even at 0 for every video option, it still runs slow as hell. no matter what I do there's no change in speed. the options section and the title screen = no problem. the opening movie sequence is also not much of a problem albeit with a frame skip here and there. once I get to the overworld, though, it becomes unplayable. I hope I didn't just waste $60 on this. :( any help?
 

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
772
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
1,803
Country
United States
What's your CPU? This game has several performance problems, but the main one is that it needs a powerful CPU, people with i7 7700k have drops into the 40s in cities. Although in the overworld it shouldn't be too bad unless your CPU is extremely weak.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,280
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,215
Country
United States
What specs?

Are you running it in full screen mode, or borderless windowed?

On my laptop (which is quite below the "minimum specs, but still runs the game at 30fps), DQXI runs much better in borderless windowed mode at 1080p than normal fullscreen mode at 720p. If you are using fullscreen, then swap to borderless window.


EDIT:
AMD FX-9800P Radeon R7
Ok, those specs are actually worse than mine so I don't think you're going to be able to play this game at a decent playable framerate. Your GPU in particular is quite bad, and is probably the cause here. Older AMD APUs = not so good for gaming.
 
Last edited by Tom Bombadildo,
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
19,926
Trophies
1
XP
12,303
Country
United States
yeah, I tried that. no matter which setting I choose there's no change. is there an app that can quickly print out my specs to paste here?
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,280
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,215
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
772
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
1,803
Country
United States
yeah, I tried that. no matter which setting I choose there's no change. is there an app that can quickly print out my specs to paste here?
You can try speccy, but there really is no need, that CPU will not run the game smoothly no matter what you change. It's weaker than an FX-6300 (which I have), and I get drops in cities. Your best bet would be to lock it to 30fps so you at least get a somewhat more consistent frame rate. The game also needs a more powerful GPU. If you absolutely want to play it you could do ini file edits to lower some settings.

could the cpu/gpu be responsible for sluggish internet as well?
Not really, but since I'm guessing it's a netbook, it could have a slow wireless card.
 
Last edited by Edgarska,
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
19,926
Trophies
1
XP
12,303
Country
United States
if I choose to upgrade, how much do you think is a good price to go with when it comes to a cpu/gpu? I'm wanting something maybe in the middle, so not too expensive.
 

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
772
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
1,803
Country
United States
if I choose to upgrade, how much do you think is a good price to go with when it comes to a cpu/gpu? I'm wanting something maybe in the middle, so not too expensive.

That really depends on your definition of expensive. And also if you want to keep components, you're severely limited as to what CPU you can get, since it needs to be the same socket. If you want to build something from scratch, I think the GTX 1060 is a good middle ground regarding performance/price, but if you just want to be able to play newer games without caring about high graphics even a 1050 ti is a good compromise (1050 ti, not the regular 1050).
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: I'd feel bad for anyone still on 2.3