Problems Having Emulators Running ROMS from DVD

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by gamer220, Dec 28, 2008.

Dec 28, 2008
  1. gamer220
    OP

    Newcomer gamer220 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Australia
    I was wondering how do you do this. I tried a few different ways with the Genesis Plus, SNES9X GX, and FCE Ultra GX. I burned the roms as a data disc for each one by just dropping all the roms in there without a folder. Didnt work. THen I tried using the format of how you would when you put the roms on a SD card. Didnt work. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I am using the Roxio program and using Verbatim DVD-R discs. If anyone has any solutions it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. SpikeyBryan

    Member SpikeyBryan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have an SD?
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,355
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you cant run them fvrom a disc only the gamecube version can do that.
     
  4. Raylene2K7

    Member Raylene2K7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    parts unknown
    Country:
    Jamaica
    stop spreading lies! .. sure you can! ..

    I only had problems running NES roms from DVD (FCEUltraGX) ... and everyone just ignored my topic about that

    but running SNES, MD and SMS roms was/is no problem, and with the new FCE Ultra GX 2.0.7 loading from DVD works too
     
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    But you need DVDx installed to run the roms from DVD right?
     
  6. Raylene2K7

    Member Raylene2K7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    parts unknown
    Country:
    Jamaica
    I haven't seen a Wii without DVDx for weeks or months so i can't tell if it's needed
     
  7. gamer220
    OP

    Newcomer gamer220 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Australia
    i have dvdx installed already. How do u format the files on the dvd. Do you need folders or just throw thr roms on the root of the disc
     
  8. gamer220
    OP

    Newcomer gamer220 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Australia
    I do have an SD card and have run games on there. But I would like to be able to put all the games i have on just one DVD so i dont need to keep on swapping out the sd card.
     
  9. theotherfreakygu

    Newcomer theotherfreakygu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Try to create an ISO with Imgburn and burn that to disc. in my experience if you just drag and drop files onto the disc in Windows (especially Vista) it uses a weird format. Or use Nero or some other program to create a "Data Disc."

    (PS: Avoid double-posting.)
     
  10. jspicher

    Newcomer jspicher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    2nded what was said above by theotherfreakyguy...

    I created a directory structure for mine.
    Ie a folder for each eumlator:
    Sega Gen
    NES
    Super NES
    Turbo Grafx 16

    Then just used ImgBurn's "Write files/folders to disc" option and burned the DVD.
    I tested it out and it worked just fine.
     
  11. Raylene2K7

    Member Raylene2K7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    parts unknown
    Country:
    Jamaica
    You don't need ImgBurn and you don't need to make folders for each system (but folders make it easier to find the rom you are looking for [​IMG] )

    I've just used Nero to burn a DVD-RW again with different roms of each console (including zip/rar's and a lot of unpacked roms for each system)
     
  12. spritefreak

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    So do you need to install DivX to the Wii in order to play the Roms from a DVD? Also, I have tons of ROMS for my PC emulator. Will those roms work on the Wii emulator as well, or are there specific one for the Wii?
     
  13. Wiindel

    Newcomer Wiindel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Aruba
    The Genesis / Mega Drive Emulator works great with the my burned Roms DVD.

    But SNES9x Emulator don't work with the burned SNES Roms on DVD.
    I changed it to "Load from DVD" and SNES9x finds the Roms but when I try to start the Roms I always get an Error.
    When I put the Roms from the DVD to the SD-Card, all Games works.

    The other problem is, when I started the games I tried to use the cheats for SNES9x.
    I renamed the cheats because the SNES9x Forum says so, so that the cheats works.
    But the cheats don't work.
    Any solution for this
    What i have to do that the cheat codes work?
     
  14. davedeluxe

    Member davedeluxe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Germany
    you must have dvdx installed to run your roms from sd, but dvdx won't work under systemmenu 3.4. so if you are at 3.4 you have to downgrade your wii to run the roms from the dvd
     
  15. Wiindel

    Newcomer Wiindel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Aruba
    Hallo Davedeluxe

    DVDX is installed and I got 3.2 E on my Wii.
    The Mega Drive Emulator works with the DVDX but like i sad the SNES9x won't do.
    Sometimes it works and then the same game will not start hours later.

    Gruss / Greetings
    Wiindel (GER)
     
  16. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if DVD is too buggy, I'd just stick with SD [​IMG] I'm sure you have enough storage
     

Share This Page