Problem with wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CrazyCroat, Aug 21, 2009.

Aug 21, 2009

Problem with wii by CrazyCroat at 9:16 PM (1,457 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. CrazyCroat
    OP

    Newcomer CrazyCroat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Velika Gorica, Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    I puted a game into a my wii, and it asked to update my wii.
    When update was over black screen comed up.
    After a five minutes black screen was still there so i turned my wii off and pluged the power back on, and then where not any picture on the screen (wii won't send picture to the TV).

    I tied with the other TV, and i tried with scart, and trought VCR but nothing happened.

    Please guys help


    Crazy Croat
     
  2. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    You shouldn't let your Wii update through the Nintendo Servers/Game Update without knowing what's gonna happen.

    First of all.

    Do you have BootMii installed, if so, as boot2 or IOS?

    What version are you on? 4.0, 4.1, 3.2, 3.4?
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    What game was it? What system menu did you have?

    If you once had 4.0, downgraded to 3.2 and the game had 3.4, your Wii is completely dead.
     
  4. CrazyCroat
    OP

    Newcomer CrazyCroat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Velika Gorica, Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    I did downgraded the wii from 4.0 to 3.2, but before the wii got this problem i puted Mario Kart Wii and it asked to updtae my Wii and it did, then when it did finished
    i puted Punch Out and it asked to update, after update and when i turned it off and back on my Wii didn't send picture to TV
    My Wii can be turned on (green light) and it can read disc but there is no picture on TV.

    Please help
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm sure Punch out has 3.4 on it, 3.4 uses IOS50, which is replaced by a stub IOS on 4.0. Stub IOS are NOT working IOS and installed to save some memory and/or prevent easy downgrading.

    The problem here is that most (or better all) methods to downgrade to 3.2 did not downgrade IOS50 too. The result of this is that your system menu now uses a not working IOS. All the savemii, update with autoboot disc and modchip, preloader and whatever stuff requires a working system menu IOS.

    Only BootMii installed as boot2 can protect from this kind of brick.
     
  6. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    And what WiiPower is saying, your wii is dead. Send it in to Nintendo or buy a new one...

    Unless you have bootmii.
     
  7. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Should have just stayed at 4.0.
     
  8. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Tell me, why do people downgrade?!?! 4.0 and 4.1 can do more than 3.2. Guess some people never learn.
     
  9. CrazyCroat
    OP

    Newcomer CrazyCroat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Velika Gorica, Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    Just two more questions :

    1.Can it be repaired at some wii repairman (or something like that), and if yes how it will cost?

    2.If i can't do nothing I think i wiil buy new wii so tell me, please, what to install to secure my wii?


    Thanks in advance
    CrazyCroat
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Better ask what to NOT install:
    - system menu themes
    - cioscorp and similar stuff
    - system menu from the wrong region
    - wads from source you can't 100% trust
    - downgrade stuff(except IOS15)
    - modified system menu IOS
    - updates from nintendo, wifi or disc does not matter

    Then you will be safe, when you turn your brain on.

    Other way is: buy an OLD wii, install BootMii to boot2, make a nand backup, and your are safe.
     
  11. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    you gonna need to send it to Ninty and it will probably come back as a new wii were you cant install BootMii as boot2 and it will probably be LU65+.

    instead of giving nintendo the $80 or more, i'd go buy a old 2nd hand wii from the pawn shop or gumtree, craigslist etc. then atleast you can install BootMii as boot2 and hack it alot easier than if you get a brand new one back from nintendo.
     
  12. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Wiipower is right but the problem nowadays is, where to get a NOS Wii where BootMii can be installed to Boot2?
     
  13. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    @CrazyCroat
    If you have an old Wii with a vulnerable boot2 i give you 80$+pp.
     
  14. CrazyCroat
    OP

    Newcomer CrazyCroat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Velika Gorica, Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    Motherboard is broken, they are asking for 200$ for a new one,
    anybody have a better offer?
    I live in Croatia so include shipping in the price.
     

Share This Page