Problem with my flashcart

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Evair, Aug 12, 2012.

Aug 12, 2012

Problem with my flashcart by Evair at 12:24 AM (708 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Evair
    OP

    Newcomer Evair Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So guys i have a problem with my R4 SDHC flashcart..
    I bought this flashcard from a site:

    [​IMG]

    There were guidlines on their site on how to install the firmware for the flashcart and so i did, they said that i needed to download this firmware: http://www.r4bestell...5/R4DS-SDHC.rar
    and so i did. But when i tried it on my Nintendo Ds it keeps giving me a blackscreen with the message: "Please upgrade the hardware for support latest firmware."

    [​IMG]

    I tried the newest firmware from www.r4sihdc.com but that one just gives me a whitescreen.. what should i do??
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They stopped pushing out updates for that cart, which is why it's telling you to upgrade the hardware (they're telling you to buy their new cart). Notice that on the site, it's not listed with any of the recent DSi/3DS updates... so from what I see there's nothing you can do.

    Buy a cart that has proper support and gets updates, like the DSTwo.

    http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
     
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Rydian, look at his DS. It looks like an original DS to me. Original poster you need to detail out exactly what you've done to this point because the flashcard you have will work on your original DS.

    Use this kernel HERE but FIRST use Panasonic SD Formatter v3.1 on your micro sd card. (backup all files except the previous kernel (In other words, your games and saves only)
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, my bad. I saw the update notice and immediately thought it was a bootloader update issue.
     
  5. Evair
    OP

    Newcomer Evair Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have found out that this flash card gets this message when there is a game in the second slot, it has some issues.. but without a game in the second slot it works. But now i have another problem, because i want to install the wood firmware on my flashcard and i did as i should.. i formatted the card, put the kernel from your link on my card and pasted the wood files over it but i keep getting a white screen.. =/ Isn't wood available for my flash cart or am i doing something wrong?? I downloaded this wood version: http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/flashcart-files/download-wood-r4-150-f30096.html
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Wood isn't available for it. Wood is only legitly available for three flash carts.

    1 - The original "R4". JUST "R4".
    2 - The R4i Gold from R4iDS.CN
    3 - The R4i from R2iDSN.COM

    EDIT: Also the AK RPG, but that cart rarely comes up when dealing with R4 clones.
     
  7. Evair
    OP

    Newcomer Evair Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Aaah, that sucks =/ is there maybe another os that i can put on it? Because i don't like this firmware =/ But thanks anyway for your help guys! =)
     
  8. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    No, and it's not called "firmware', it's called "kernel."
     
  9. Evair
    OP

    Newcomer Evair Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Aah oke, but thank you anyway.
     

Share This Page