Hacking Problem with loading and in-game crashes. (SCDS1)

hjfbv1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
89
Country
United States
Ok, I have been living under a rock and not too active in the DS scene in a while. for that reason I just updated my SCDS1 to the EOS where as I had the original OS before this. However now very few games load correctly and certain games crash while in the middle of playing them. IE: "Yu-Gi-Oh 2010." I know that for the Yu-Gi-Oh game, the PC emulator was having problems so it my be just that game; however, this doesn't solve the problem that quite a few of my games refuse to load and either go to a white screen or stay in the EOS loading screen.

I am using a slightly old DS lite with scandisc microsd 2G
 

takeshi10123

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
wirral
XP
193
Country
hjfbv1 said:
Ok, I have been living under a rock and not too active in the DS scene in a while. for that reason I just updated my SCDS1 to the EOS where as I had the original OS before this. However now very few games load correctly and certain games crash while in the middle of playing them. IE: "Yu-Gi-Oh 2010." I know that for the Yu-Gi-Oh game, the PC emulator was having problems so it my be just that game; however, this doesn't solve the problem that quite a few of my games refuse to load and either go to a white screen or stay in the EOS loading screen.

I am using a slightly old DS lite with scandisc microsd 2G
I can play the hole game of Yu-Gi-Oh! 5Ds 2010 and had no crashes on EOS v1.0 SP5/6 16GB SDHC Card
 

hjfbv1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
89
Country
United States
well then idk whats going on, im on EOS sp6 and crashes happen sometimes when cards are destroyed usually
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
hjfbv1 said:
Ok, I have been living under a rock and not too active in the DS scene in a while. for that reason I just updated my SCDS1 to the EOS where as I had the original OS before this. However now very few games load correctly and certain games crash while in the middle of playing them. IE: "Yu-Gi-Oh 2010." I know that for the Yu-Gi-Oh game, the PC emulator was having problems so it my be just that game; however, this doesn't solve the problem that quite a few of my games refuse to load and either go to a white screen or stay in the EOS loading screen.

I am using a slightly old DS lite with scandisc microsd 2G

You probably have the wrong kind of EOS for your Supercard DSONE. There are several different types of DSONE EOS. There's the DSONE EOS for the V3 Supercard DSONE and there's a DSONE EOS for the Original/Normal/Old Supercard DSONE. There are also Chinese and English DSONE EOS's so make sure you're getting the right one. http://eng.supercard.sc/manual/dsone/evolution/download.htm

If that does not work, then I suggest that you should Format your Micro SD card BEFORE you copy a fresh download of the EOS.
 

hjfbv1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
89
Country
United States
well i found out it will let me play the game (specifically talking about yu-gi-oh 5d'd now) when i play clean, it runs, however is prone to crashes with certain animations, and also plays very slow, almost like i am playing on a very low end computer on an emulator. and even then it might be faster than what my DS is playing at. There is supposedly a fix for that (I guess other people were having a problem with the game) that disables a few animations through cheating. However if i attempt to play the game patched so cheats apply the game will not load and goes straight to a white screen. I am attempting to format and reinstall the EOS (I did have the correct one but you never know) I may have something from the old OS screwing with it.


EDIT: Well format worked nicely, I can run the game in patched mode now. Have yet to play a game, however its a step in the right direction. Just wished I didn't have to lose all my saves T.T
 

AfxTwn

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
I also have a very similar problem to this although not specifically with the Yu Gi Oh game. Crashes occur on my SC DSone (SDHC version) no matter which game I play. Sometimes the game will run smooth but very often will crash and freeze and then when I restart the DS and try to load a game again, it just freezes on the SC loading screen. I have tried formatting my microSD card (Kingston 8GB class 4 Taiwan model) using the Panasonic Formatter program but this has made no difference. I know that the Japanese models of my microSD are supposed to be the best but I'm finding it hard to track one down as most online stores don't stipulate where the card is from.

Anyway, I'm considering upgrading to a DSTwo flashcart and getting a new Kingston microSD but a Japan model (this is for use on my NDS Lite as I don't have a DSi) but I'm just not sure whether that will work any better.

Does anyone have any solutions for my current problem or do you think the DSTwo is the better option? Also I'm from the UK so it would be great if anyone knows where I can get hold of a Japan Kingston microSD.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
hjfbv1 said:
well i found out it will let me play the game (specifically talking about yu-gi-oh 5d'd now) when i play clean, it runs, however is prone to crashes with certain animations, and also plays very slow, almost like i am playing on a very low end computer on an emulator. and even then it might be faster than what my DS is playing at. There is supposedly a fix for that (I guess other people were having a problem with the game) that disables a few animations through cheating. However if i attempt to play the game patched so cheats apply the game will not load and goes straight to a white screen. I am attempting to format and reinstall the EOS (I did have the correct one but you never know) I may have something from the old OS screwing with it.


EDIT: Well format worked nicely, I can run the game in patched mode now. Have yet to play a game, however its a step in the right direction. Just wished I didn't have to lose all my saves T.T

It's always nice to make frequent (at least once a week or once a month) backups of files on your Micro SD card. There was one point where my Micro SD card was supposedly "damaged or corrupted", and I had no backups whatsoever. All I had were ROMs and a few latest save files of the games I had on the Micro SD.

Though, the supposedly "corrupted" Micro SD card wasn't really corrupted, it's just that I didn't insert it into the Micro SD Reader that far in.
tongue.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    For batch operations.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Massivley so. Glad I'm getting more experienced with it now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Ftp is life if not on wifi