Problem with a banner brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by PTKnight13, Jun 20, 2009.

Jun 20, 2009

Problem with a banner brick by PTKnight13 at 6:15 PM (1,742 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Hiya~

    Recently, about 3 weeks ago, I bricked my Wii with a bad wad and I had no preloader or bootmii installed, only the HBC.
    Apparently the only thing I could do was to get a modchip and autoboot a disc to directly access the Wad manager channel.
    Well, I got the Drivekey for it and used this http://www.ps3news.com/Nintendo-Wii/univer...r-nintendo-wii/ to attempt to autoboot the Universal unbrick disc v2 on a FW4.0, I turn on the wii and go into recovery mode by pressing all 4 Dpads on a GC control and then in the corner it shows the Wii version with a black screen, so then I insert the burned disc (burned with imgburn) disc starts spinning and then stops and nothing happens, I tried different methods, but I guess my problem is that I can't autoboot at all. I already burn the disc about 5 times and made no difference, anyone knows what the problem could be?
     


  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    could be the media you you using to burn. Some wiis are picky as hell. What brand DVD-Rs are you using?
     
  3. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently I'm using TDK 1-16x speed DVD-R
    I also tried to burn a Wii game to autoboot it after pressing the A on the health warning screen but that didnt work either. x_x
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Never heard of TDK. Generally the Wii works best with Sony or Verbatim DVD-R's, though mine works with Memorex
     
  5. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    memorex is an iffy one. Works fine on mine, doesn't even read on other wiis.

    I suggest Taiyo Yuden discs if they are available to you.
     
  6. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TDK are fine.
     
  7. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    could be your disc, Or your problem could be that your on 4.0 and 4.0 doesn't like autobooting trucha signed disc without hacks previously installed. That Universal Unbrick Disc your Using sounds like a Joke to me, Has anyone actually read about it in the above link, it says its works without a Mod-Chip Without cioscorp and without preloader hacks is this some kind of lame joke
     
  8. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd burn a disc with wad manager or anytitle deleter on it. I know there was a way to do so...Hell if I can remember how right now.
     
  9. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    This. I'm pretty sure those universal unbrick discs are really old and meant for firmware 3.2 anyway.
     
  10. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    I also tried some wad manager autoboots that were out there but they weren't working either, I read somewhere that a person on 3.2 had the same problem and wouldn't autoboot and someone hexed the iso for him and it worked, although if I knew how hexing would work, I'd try that out with a recent autoboot wad manager. lol, I have no idea what to do right now =.=
     
  11. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    First tell me how you updated to 4.0 and i'll tell you if any trucha signed autoboot disc will work on your Wii
     
  12. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    I did it through Wifi, over Nintendo's official update, after that I remember installing the bannerbomb so I could install HBC, I think it did some kind of downgrade but I'm not sure how it worked, its 4.0 right now though.
     
  13. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Then you're wasting your time with any autoboot disc, cause all of them are trucha signed and sense the trucha bug was patched on your Wii's system menu IOS with the official update None of them will work. As of right now i know of no way you can fix your Wii.

    Only way possible to fix your Wii is to wait for the SMB Brawl hack, and then download the DVD9 Version Brawl not scrubbed or trucha signed, then use the program bootme, on the ISO and set it to autoboot, Setting a Game to autoboot doesn't trucha sign it so the game will boot, and if the brawl hacks works without using any previously installed hacks you could in theory use that to unbrick yourself but like i said this may work but only in theory. cause i'm not 100% sure how the brawl hacks works cause it hasn't been released.
     
  14. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright I understand, I heard of this Brawl hack so I think I'll wait on that, by the way, for now there wouldn't be any possible way to autoboot games and skip the Wii menu then? Could be a temporarly solution to play games unless only the Brawl hack will be able to autoboot and bypass the official Nintendo update then I guess I'll just wait, thanks a lot by the way.
     
  15. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you could download full game ISO's not trucha signed, and use the program bootme on it to set it to autoboot and load the games through your recovery menu while your waiting
     
  16. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm, what if he replaced the main.dol file on a wii game, with wad manager's .dol.? Does wii scrubber always trucha sign isos?

    Sorry if that is a dumb question, I haven't used wii scrubber all that much.
     
  17. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Yea any change like that to a ISO would require it to be trucha signed?
     
  18. PTKnight13
    OP

    Newcomer PTKnight13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there a way to tell if an ISO is not trucha signed? I was just trying for fun an ISO and patched it with Autoboot creator 1.0 to inserted that into my wii but the only thing that happened is that the Wii version in the corner disappeared and screen remains black, disc is still spinning. I tried this in recovery mode.
     
  19. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    First off use this program for setting games to autoboot, To use it go to your command prompt and go to the same directory has the bootme program make sure the ISO is in the same folder and type this in the command prompt
    BootMe game.iso a


    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii_BootMe

    Second question i'm not 100% sure how to tell if a ISO is trucha signed, if its Homebrew you know its trucha signed, if its a game i'm unsure how to tell
     
  20. clownz

    Member clownz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    as i was reading through the posts on this, im still wondering why my wii wont recognize dvd-r's. it can only read dvd+r's and i am concerned about the laser. I have been using usb right now, but i still would like mine to read dvd-r's less headache and stress on the lens of my wii.

    any ideas? or are some just that way?
     

Share This Page