Problem installing wad - please read!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by PatrikRSM, Jan 29, 2013.

Jan 29, 2013
  1. PatrikRSM
    OP

    Newcomer PatrikRSM Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hello!
    I just recently softmodded my Wii, because I want to be able to play LoZ:OoT and MM as the NTSC versions on my PAL Wii.
    I followed a massive guide, so I got some of the fundamentals right; I got a multi-mod manager and some other basic applications.

    Now all of this is working just fine. The problems started when I was trying to install LoZ:MM to my Wii. Ill post some links to show you how I did it:


    I used this to be able to play the wad on my PAL Wii, and I followed the instructions step by step (also got the other programs) : Custom Nand-Loader MOD 1.1 | GBAtemp.net -> The Free Independent Video Game Community: 3DS, NDS, Wii, GBA, PSP, Hacking, Dingoo, PS3, Xbox 360...

    Now, when I've fixed my modified Zelda wad, I'm using my mod manager (I've also used a regular wad manager, same result), then locating the wad, and then pressing install. It goes through the process, and everything seems fine. Then it says "installation complete" or whatever, but when I go back to my home screen it's not there.

    I've also tried region changing into a NTSC system, and then installing the unmodified Zelda wad, but the same problem occurs.


    So, my guess is that I've missed some important basic of installing wads; but I can't find anything about it in tutorials. Maybe I need some other files in my SD card in order for the installation to work - all I have that has to do with the wad is a wad manager and the wad itself.

    Is there anyone that can help me with this problem? It's so confusing since I don't even get an error message. Please reply to this, I've spent many hours trying to fix this. If you think I've missed some fundementals, a tutorial going through ALL basics of installing wads would be highly appreciated.
     
  2. DragonBoy

    Newcomer DragonBoy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Greece
    Remove the wad now... Its illegal and the mods will shoot you... :P
     
  3. PatrikRSM
    OP

    Newcomer PatrikRSM Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks, sorry for that. Edited now.

    I don't mind paying for a legal wad, I've already bought the PAL VC version of MM. Is there any way to legally get the NTSC version wad to my computer, please help me out with that as well!
     
  4. DragonBoy

    Newcomer DragonBoy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Greece
    I'm at work at the moment and I can't help you... I'll get home later and have a look if noone helps you until then... :)
     
  5. PatrikRSM
    OP

    Newcomer PatrikRSM Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks a lot, i really hope that someone can figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm at work now as well, will be home in about 6 hours:)
     
  6. DragonBoy

    Newcomer DragonBoy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Greece
  7. PatrikRSM
    OP

    Newcomer PatrikRSM Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the help man, but I've already tried this as well. The same happens here; I install the wad file, and it goes through the process, tells me that it finished successfully, but nothing happens. There's no game on my home menu. It feels as if I'm missing some files in my root for this to work, or something like that. It really sucks, I don't know what to do and I've searched around so very much for this.
     
  8. _acid_

    Member _acid_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i noticed you didn't mention checking how much memory you have on your wii left. perhaps there's not enough room on your wii at the moment. thats all i know, buddy
     
  9. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,110
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    Did you check what ios you're installing the wad on? That's the only thing I think that would make a difference.
     
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    bad .wad. not allowed here on GBA Temp.
    and no you cannot play the NTSC version on your PAl Wii.
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    He can play out of region WiiWare if he use priiloader and enable region free channel (or region free everything).
    There's also geckoOS which can launch Channels from the system menu, but I don't remember if it can launch a different region game.
    And he can use game launchers/NAN Loaders/USBLoaders to launch WiiWare games from any regions, without patching the region or the video mode before installing the wad.

    Download the game from the USA e-shop, it will install properly.
    Use a homebrew channel launcher to launch your game.
    That's all. no patch or wad manager required.

    Region changing your Wii is a bad thing if you already have a e-shop account tied to your console, as the region is stored on Nintendo's servers. you need to delete your shop account first.
    But you don't need to region change your console. All game's region are working on all console's region.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    As I recall, this will not make the game run in 60hz on a PAL Wii. I will either display "this channel is not compatible"or it will revert to 50Hz.
     

Share This Page