problem booting PAL games on NTSC wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Nocturno, Mar 8, 2009.

Mar 8, 2009
  1. Nocturno
    OP

    Member Nocturno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hello, I have a ntsc wii v3.4u with wiikey 2 v1.2 installled.

    Recently I burned house of the dead overkill pal and the wii recognized it but when I start it, the screen turns black and nothing happens.

    HOD overkill came with an update, I tried removing it with bricker blocker, and also blocking it with wiikey option to block updates, both with the same result.

    The same thing is happenning with PES 2008.

    This is the first time I have problems booting PAL games on my wii.

    Do I need any special IOS to run house of the dead?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I don't know if you have Homebrew, but you will need this to get these Games to work...

    There are two possibilities:

    1)Run game through GeckoOS
    2)Run Game through SoftChip

    GeckoOS-Channel
    SoftChip-Channel

    GeckoOS dol
    SoftChip dol

    You can take the one you want, it doesn't matter. If you simply want enhanced Region-Free, no Cheating, etc. then I would go with SoftChip, since it can Auto-Boot the game, so simply launch and play. The easiest solution [​IMG]
     
  3. jebrown19

    Newcomer jebrown19 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    Not that this will help a whole lot but I'm coming across the same situation with NTSC-J Pikman on my NTSC-US Wii. Looks like it's going to load and then just a black screen. I am using Gamma and as with Nocturno have never had this problem before with out of region games.
     
  4. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Have you tried SoftChip, with Force to Japanese, and Video-Mode DiscRegion? Play a little bit around...If that don't work, look here:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=125909

    I think WiiPower fixed Pikmin with this...Bascily: Try GeckoOS/Gamma/Softchip, play around until you get the right combination [​IMG]. I also have sometimes this problem on a PAL Wii...If the game don't want to boot, I just load it with SoftChip, and it works...
     
  5. jebrown19

    Newcomer jebrown19 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    Great, Softchip worked like a charm.

    Now.. if you can only point me to a "Speak Japanese in 3 easy steps" thread, that would be great.

    Thanks for your help.

    Cheers
     
  6. Nocturno
    OP

    Member Nocturno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    Venezuela
    but why would it worked with softchip and not with modchip?

    maybe I have to install an ios, house of dead comes with an update, but I can´t install it because it is the pal version..
     
  7. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Basicly, the Option called "Region-Free" in your Config-Disk, is a lie. It makes that NTSC And NTSC-J Games are shown in the Disc-Channel, and maybe playable. But sometimes, Games require a special Thing, maybe they require a PAL-Video Mode, or want a special Language, etc..which your TV can't display. And that can't do a Modchip for you, it's way to complex for it.

    Belive me, you'll be absolute fine with SoftChip, and also you don't need any cIOS or something, just the App. SoftChip will work as a Backup-loader and as a Combination with Modchips, it was desiged for that. It will "Patch" the game on the fly, so it will work, belive me. What do you have to loose? Run the App once through HBC, if it works, great, you can use it every time, or even install a Channel. If it don't work...well, it is a better solotion than messing with IOSes around, isn't it? And you can delete the .dol from the SD-Card any everythings fine, no Traces...

    I'm dissapointed that you make a Thread, ask for help, and then even don't try what I've suggested. This is realy sad... do what you want, I've said the right and best solution, go on and mess up with your Wii, it's not my problem anymore.

    ~Blue-K
     
  8. Nocturno
    OP

    Member Nocturno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    Venezuela
    thanks man, it worked with gecko but not with softchip, it gave me a green screen..
     

Share This Page