Problem backing up/restoring Zelda Minish Cap save data

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by Cosmic_Link, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. Cosmic_Link
    OP

    Newcomer Cosmic_Link Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi! ^o^

    I had just decided to start playing the Minish Cap again, but when I got to the main menu, it keeps saying file 2 is corrupt, then says file 3 is corrupt. So I erased all the save files from the cart and whenever I try to create new save data it says could not save and I can't load a new game now... [​IMG] This is a retail game cart just so you know. Wanted to play it on my SP for old times sake! ^o^

    Anyway, I thought I'd create a new save data using an emulator, which I did on my supercard, and write it to the card using a GBA backup tool. I decided to use rudolph's tool and whenever I try to write to the card, it freezes at 50% and doesn't do anything. Left it like this for some time. It also does the same when I try "initialize save data section". >.< After a little looking around, I heard that Rudolph's tool was not compatible with EEPROM save files. So I don't know what to do. I'm not too familiar with this kind of stuff... [​IMG]

    Any idea's as to what I can do, or is the game shot...?

    Thanks in advance for any help! ^o^
     
  2. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    What gba backup device are you using to write the saves?
     
  3. Cosmic_Link
    OP

    Newcomer Cosmic_Link Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi! ^^

    I'm using my DSLite and supercard DS2 with Rudolph's GBA Backup tool. I don't have anything else to write save files with, but I haven't had a problem using this method to write GBA save files to other game carts... >.<

    Thanks for your reply! ^^
     
  4. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    The eeprom present on your cart is a non-volatile memory, and thus I find it hard to believe that you cannot save your game. I suspect that the eeprom is somehow corrupted and must be formatted. I originally thought you were using an actual gba backup device from Visoly or EMS. It seems like your only choice is to find a software that can read/write eeprom saves. Otherwise I think you should just buy a used cartridge from ebay. I'll dig around a bit for ya and see what I can find.
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Use the eeprom converter that came with the gba backup tool, requires windows xp or lower.

    GBA Backup Tool dumps save data in a linear manner, ie SRAM and FLASH store data linear. EEPROM saves are NOT linear, even when GBT dumps the EEPROM save linearly it has to be corrected before you can use it.
     
  6. Cosmic_Link
    OP

    Newcomer Cosmic_Link Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you very much for this! ^o^ You're a star! Worked a treat. BTW, just thought I'd let you know that the EEPROM Converter also worked with Windows 7. ^o^ I will remember this for future reference.

    Again, thanks for helping me save my game cart! [​IMG] Appreciated!
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    VB doesn't run on windows 7 x64, means you got a x32 version of windows 7 if you can run VB and VB Script.
     
  8. paw

    Newcomer paw Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Italy

    I know it's been a while, but I've got your same problem and I haven't find a solution yet, it seems you solved the problem, so I thought you might help me.
    I tried using the gba back-up tool, but it doesn't even recognize my cartidge... The problem is exactly the same as yours, data file corrupted and unable to create new save data, how did you solved that?
     

Share This Page