Private PSO/BB server?

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by Rydian, Sep 2, 2012.

Sep 2, 2012

Private PSO/BB server? by Rydian at 12:04 AM (562 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So I used to play on the SCHT private PSO/BB server, and I started up again. Well, unfortunately it seems they've added some anti-hack protection that scans all processes for certain key words or phrases and then kills them.

    So yeah, I can't browse gbatemp with the game up without the game outright terminating the browser. :\ Hell, googling some stuff involving android kills it. I even had it killed repeatedly trying to load up a certain porn pic on a website...

    And upon posting a thread on the forums asking them to whitelist browsers...

    [​IMG]

    So yeah. Are there any other servers for PSO/BB that are still running WITHOUT asshole anti-hack practices?
     
  2. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,288
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Maybe check out BlueCrab's http://sylverant.net/ ?

    I'm not sure what sort of anti-hack stuff they have though, if any.
     
  3. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Ahh, that's why it's closing as soon as I see my character?
    But I used to be able to play with my browser and GBAtemp opened (well, it was at the beginning of the year, it might be a new protection).

    Sometime it even says that I'm banned, but after few retries it worked.
    Also, about the banned message the first time I played, I had to disable NOD32 HTTP scanning for the server.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is some overzealous AP... I did not realise things were getting that bad. Indeed I would probably not be able to argue [against someone saying] that behaviour constitutes malware behaviour.

    This said does Sandboxie or something similar not work around it?
     
  5. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the antihack stuff doesn't start up until the login process is done.

    Yeah it's definitely new. I used to be able to run certain programs and tools in the background while sitting around in-game feeding my mag, but now various debugging tools are killed on sight.

    I'm not happy about it one bit either, especially since the AP doesn't actually stop the game from being modified (since they're just working with the binaries for the client, not having source access). This seems to just fight against script kiddies googling for cheat engine tutorials and crap, it was trivial to attach a debugger once I tried.

    The game successfully runs in sandboxie without freaking out over other programs that are running, thanks! Didn't even think of segregating the programs like that...

    That said the client does like to crash still with an incorrectly-encoded foreign message whenever a UAC prompt comes up... I don't remember if it did that before they added antihack.dll to it, but oh well, that can be avoided too.
     

Share This Page