Preloader dol installer temp fix

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by hac76, Feb 18, 2009.

Feb 18, 2009

Preloader dol installer temp fix by hac76 at 9:18 PM (4,032 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    Hi all,

    I've compiled a homebrew which can be successful installed in preloader !

    This homebrew auto-launch boot.dol located in root of SD card.

    I used LoadMii & SoftChip sources (indeed softchip can be installed, so i decided to try to inject a dol loader in).

    It is working on a 3.2E Pal.

    ps: sorry for my english, i'm waiting for feedback !

    download:
    dol: http://encore14.free.fr/autoboot.dol
    dol + sources: http://encore14.free.fr/autoboot.rar
     


  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    So what exactly is your autoboot dol...???

    Are you saying it's SoftChip with the homebrew loading funtion of loadmii?
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    When you used SoftChip and LoadMii sources you need to read the GPL conditions and respect them. Alternatively you can just add a link to your sources, or add the sources to your package.
     
  4. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    Ok I will post a package with sources.
    Sorry,

    OSW: My app is just based on softchip but doesn't load any backup. It is just an autobooter .dol to be installed in preloader in order to launch boot.dol (of your choice) at wii startup !
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh I understand now. Thank you hac76.

    Sounds useful, I will try it.
     
  6. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    I promice this evening i post a package with sources.

    It is not very "proper" but it seems to work !
     
  7. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    I've post sources, in my first post of this thread !

    I'm waiting for feedback !
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I checked the license for SoftChip and LoadMii and it's GPL 3 for both. Please add the License file from SoftChip to your package with the source.

    (http://code.google.com/p/wii-softchip/source/browse/trunk/loader/License)

    Feel free to use these sources in the future as much as you want. The reason for me pointing this out to you is just that i want as much as possible code for homebrew software open source.
     
  9. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    Sorry but license file of Softchip is already in this package.

    If you have another question i'm ready !
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    When i posted this, i didn't see your package with source. Thank you, i don't have any questions(for now).
     
  11. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    up ! No one is interested
     
  12. magic12

    Member magic12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Croatia
    what is practic use of this
     
  13. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    now you can autoboot any dol.
    Normally preloader is very picky about the dols. But this dol can load as autoboot, and will then boot another dol from sd.
     
  14. magic12

    Member magic12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Croatia
    cool i will try it tonight, i wonder if this will run menu patcher, will see..
     
  15. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i don't think it will. but the problem is menu patcher itself. preloader renames the system menu, so menu patcher probably can't find it
     
  16. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    Does anyone confirm it is working ?
     
  17. hac76
    OP

    Newcomer hac76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
  18. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    what's the use for this... preloader can already automatically bot any dol you put on sdcard ?

    sorry but maybe that's the reason no one is really interested in your thread ?
    it's not very clear what's the benefit of using your application
     
  19. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it can't. Preloader is extremly choosy about which dol files it will install/run. So far the only dol files I can get working are ARC, ATD512 and HB installer
     
  20. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh and it doesnt seem to work as all you get is a black screen instead of glitched text, so the dols that didnt work before - still dont!
     

Share This Page