Power Supplys?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by InuYasha, Oct 2, 2010.

Oct 2, 2010

Power Supplys? by InuYasha at 7:09 PM (760 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Is there suppose to be some air flow behind the PS? all I feel is some slightly warm air mostly probaly due to heat,basically if thats the case then I guess I can confirm my problem Here...also wheres a good place to get a good replacements for my needs? I checked out newegg and they have some nice prices,any other sites?pref. with pictures and such so I know I have the right connections...
     
  2. Rasas

    Banned Rasas Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    Tiger Direct, Bestbuy, staples, office depot, microcenter and Amazon are some good places.

    Considering where you are located sometimes a computer recycling center has some to sell for cheap and it might be a better option if you don't mind buying one used.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some really old PSUs I have just have a grill in the back and no airflow at all. Some PSUs may have a fan but only use it if the PSU is heating up. Some will only operate if it has at least one fan on all the time, if not a second to help airflow through the device. Generally it tends to matter on the parts its made out of and the amount of power it supplies - I don't think you'll ever find a fanless 1kW PSU.

    Btw, the plural of "supply" is "supplies".
     
  4. hogg

    Member hogg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Check Amazon I got a 400w with back and top air flow for $19 delivered.
     
  5. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Found some pictures of my current power supply Here if that makes any difference...
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, I've got 3 of those (left). One has its insides caked in dust, but still works just fine. Unfortunately they do have rather weak rails, so if you do come close to overdrawing on that 250W limit, they will blow up (evidence being a pop and black smoke, not always in that order). That's happened 3 times to me, although once was my fault for plugging it in at a wall with an incompatible voltage (the difference between 120-something volts and the 260-something volts the UK has - I've long forgotten the specifics). EDIT: To make it clear, that PSU does not need any airflow since it's not supposed to create enough heat to need it (a bit like old CPUs) - plus it's also such a low power rating.

    For your old computer, it's probably all the computer needs, and the chances of it causing your problems is around 23% (educated guess). If you upgrade to anything modern, it's only a bit over half of what you need (450W is the minimum recommended for the average budget system these days).
     
  7. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Would this one be a suitable replacement? Here ? the one thing I worry about is it says one power mother board connecter or whatever when my current one has 2 white connecters that plug into the mother board...
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks like it'll be fine. From my experience, pretty much every PSU comes with the normal ATX connection, the extension connection (ATX-e or something like that, I forget what it's called) and a 12V connection for the motherboard (usually 4 pins, but my motherboard uses 8 pins for that so I needed a PSU to give that).

    If you ever want to upgrade, you might consider getting a more powerful PSU. If you just want to fix your computer though (assuming the PSU is actually the problem) then it'll be fine. $22 is a good price for a cheap PSU anyway.
     

Share This Page