Possible workaround for 'green screen' problem with backup-loa

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by frodo2006, Sep 21, 2008.

  1. frodo2006
    OP

    Newcomer frodo2006 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Austria
    At first: My setup: PAL-Wii, FW 3.2, hooked to a PAL/NTSC-Multiformat compatible LCD-TV via Component-Cable (YPbPr).

    I tried to use Pro Evolution Soccer NTSC but got stuck on green screen (like many of you seem to experience with some NTSC-games).

    I finally got it runnig by simply using waninkoko's WiiFrii 2.3b for region patching before using the backup-creator

    Only 2 simple steps were needed:

    1. Use WiiFrii to patch the unmodified NTSC-iso with "NTSC-U to PAL"-Option.
    2. Apply final backup-creator patching

    I burned the resulting ISO to a DVD-R and *surprise* it didn't get stuck with a green screen but booted up the game just fine (opening cinematics are stuttering, but no big deal, actual game runs just fine).

    Maybe it's worth giving NTSC->PAL Region patching a try with other NTSC-ISOs that also get stuck on green screen, will try Battalion Wars next (which also got stuck when using the not region-patched NTSC-ISO), will report if it works ASAP.
     


  2. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, its worth a try. No harm done in trying.
     
  3. frodo2006
    OP

    Newcomer frodo2006 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Austria
    UPDATE: I can confirm that this also solves the "stuck at green screen"-issue with "Battallion Wars II"(NTSC).

    Game now starts (but cinematics are really buggy on this one, due to reduced loading speed).
     
  4. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Are you Serious!? That seems awesome! But Will I need the Component cables?
     
  5. frodo2006
    OP

    Newcomer frodo2006 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Austria
    Sorry, can't tell you that, may also depend on your tv-set and wii region.
    I'll try to find my composite cable and try if it works with it... can take a while, i'm not exactly sure where i put that darn thing..
     
  6. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    mmmh....interesting....
    someone could try with Trauma Center New Blood??
     
  7. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I can also confirm this works. Couldn't play Naruto Shippuden: Gekitou! Ninja Taisen EX 2 without getting the grey screen. I patched it, then burned. At first you get the grey screen but then it disappears and it plays fine though the opening movie is laggy. It was also in black and white but that can be fixed once I get the right cables. I'm going to try Mario Super Sluggers and see if it works.
     
  8. plasticpie

    Newcomer plasticpie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Do you think this will work for Mario Kart Wii? It crashes after trying to load the second level in a grand prix game+online does not work, even though it finds people, you just get disconnected.
     
  9. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, I hope this fixes Super Mario Sluggers, going to test now and report back.
     
  10. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    What did you use for video mode patcher?

    Smart Patcher?
     
  11. sampson

    Newcomer sampson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    already on it...give me ~20 mins
     
  12. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    blazing read better the first post....

    @sampson: really appreciated... [​IMG]
     
  13. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't say anything about the video patching option, just the region patching option, so I don't know where I leave it alone or select the video mode patching (which is recommended).

    I don't have any more DVDs to waste so could I just get a straight answer, do I touch the video mode patching or not, it already patched the region, now it prompts me to change the video mode, the 1st post doesn't say anything about it but I'm not sure.

    Fuck it, I'll just test it out with the video patching.
     
  14. Midnightzak

    Member Midnightzak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    @BlazingWolf - Sorry I'm not sure about the patching. This is all still very new, need to be patient for updates.

    I haven't even had a chance to try the RegionFrii/WiiFrii yet. This is something I will be looking into later today or within the next couple days (once my PAL games finish downloading).
     
  15. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I know, but its just a simple though, do you use the video mode patching or not?

    I selected and am burning now, will let you all know how it turned out.
     
  16. Midnightzak

    Member Midnightzak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, might as well learn while I'm trolling here.

    Is Video Mode Patching an option within the WiiFrii/RegionFrii software?

    Could you list your step by step process for creating the backup discs?

    Here is what I've done:
    1. Attain ISO file
    2. Patch with Waninkoko's patcher
    3. Burn DVD with new ISO
    4. Insert game into Wii and play using the Waninkoko Loader

    * I'm guessing you patch with WiiFree as step 2 in that process
     
  17. kvp1192

    Newcomer kvp1192 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    hmm...i have an NTSC wii/HDTV/Component, do you think this would work if i patched an NTSC game to PAL for me too?
     
  18. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah you patch the game with regionfrii before doing anything else.
     
  19. sampson

    Newcomer sampson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    trauma center: new blood still green screens
    I used NTSC>PAL but kept video & language the same as it was.. Is this what you're doing?
     
  20. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly did you patch it? I want to play without having to keep extracting the iso from a DVD that I have it saved on.
     

Share This Page