Possible to play gamecube backups on wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fgsfdsyo, Sep 21, 2008.

Sep 21, 2008
  1. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to play gamecube backups on wii?
    I have some mini-dvd and regular dvd-r gamecube games and I wanted to know if it's possible to play them on the Wii.

    Just a thought;
    Region Free w/ Menu Loader -> GC Action Replay -> burnt game + AR freeloader?
    Would that work or no?
     
  2. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone shed some light on this for me?
     
  3. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
  4. azeazezar

    Newcomer azeazezar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Belgium
    There is onley 1 program you can try: SD load.
    Try google for more information
     
  5. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    If you use a modchip you can use gamecube backup disks with the wii.
     
  6. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Arm: No, pertaining to what?

    I don't think a little gimmicky post like that can sufficiently answer my question.

    Zar: I'll look into it, thanks.

    Ted: I wanted to know before I go the modchip route, but I do plan on getting a Wiikey soon.
     
  7. doslu

    Newcomer doslu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    France
  8. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    I'd be nice if we could get a proper translation of this guide and maybe have stickied here.
    Either way, Google Translation is pretty good at spanish.
     
  10. doslu

    Newcomer doslu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    France
    use google to translate
     
  11. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Even using google to translate, it is hard to understand what the post dictates.

    I do get this so far.

    Materials:
    1 Wii (They used 3.2 PAL wii)
    1 Command Gamecube (Looks like gamecube controller)
    1 SD Card at least 1GB (2 SD Cards recommended)
    1 SD Gecko
    1 Original Gamecube game (not necessary, but it's good?)

    Required software:
    RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad
    Homebrew Channel 8
    Wii Homebrew Launcher v.02
    SD-Boot .4 b8
    Gamecube ISO

    Helpful Utilities:
    GCMUtility 0.5 (Reduce image file)
    Pre-Patch v2 (Patch image file if needed)

    Procedures:
    1. In the root of SD card:
    Place RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad
    and sd-boot-0.4b8-B.dol and rename to start.dol

    In the Apps folder:
    Place GCBooter Homebrew
    and MIOSpatchingWADinstaller

    2. In the SDGecko SD Card:
    Create a folder "GCGAMES" and place ISOs inside.

    3. Remove memory cards and SDGecko

    4. Plug in GC Controller and Regular GC Game. This will turn on your console.

    5. Go to Homebrew Channel and use MIOSpatchingWADinstaller.
    Press (A) to install.

    6. Run GCBooter Homebrew, then start SD-boot .4 vb8
    A message will indicate to put your SDGecko into SLOT B

    7. If you used 1 SD Card, put the SD card from the front into the SD Gecko and insert it into SLOT B.
    If you used 2, keep the one in the front and put the second one into SLOT B.
    Press (A) button.

    8. If all goes well the image will appear in the GCGAMES folder of the SDGecko.
    Change settings and you're all set to go.
     

Share This Page