1. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Hi I am wondering if I can install a different consoles sysnand back up as my back up got corrupt
     
  2. ItsKipz

    ItsKipz l33t hax0r
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,930
    Country:
    United States
    No. Do not attempt it, you will brick. Do you have a n3ds or an old 3ds?
     
  3. Eastonator12

    Eastonator12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    No, you can't, HourGlass9 wouldn't let you, as it would cause a brick. Why do you need to restore a backup?
     
  4. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    I have an O3ds, I was hoping to restore a back up as for some reason during the mod prosses empty squares got installed to my system menue that crash the 3ds if pressed. These "empty yet not empty " slots appear even if the sd card is removed

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    On a side note I have unexpectedly found a way to region change a 3ds using ctr transfer without the usual problems associated with it as stated in the "guide" I simply use a different region ctr transfer when downgrading to 2.1 and then skip the system restore and let Nintendo update.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I have an O3ds, I was hoping to restore a back up as for some reason during the mod prosses empty squares got installed to my system menue that crash the 3ds if pressed. These "empty yet not empty " slots appear even if the sd card is removed
     
  5. Bu2d85

    Bu2d85 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    Country:
    United States
    That's why you have blank squares. They are the system apps from the other region.

    Do a 9.2 CTR nand transfer for your correct region and then update again. That should fix your problem. If you are going to change regions do it correctly next time.
     
  6. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    The console I have with the blank squares is a different one that was and remains E region
     
  7. Bu2d85

    Bu2d85 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    Country:
    United States
    A CTR transfer should fix your problem as it will clear out anything extra on your NAND. Somehow you managed to install titles that should not be there.

    I have seen something like this before where people installed cia's to their NAND instead of the SD card.
     
  8. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    So I should ctr 9.2 or 2.1 then Let Nintendo update back to 11.2 in order to fix this or just put them in a folder and forget about it. I think it happened when downloading a game from the e-shop which I cancelled early.
     
  9. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Germany
    9.2 is the best.
     
    OrGoN3 likes this.
  10. I_AM_L_FORCE

    I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not since 11.2 ;)
     
  11. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Germany
    9.2 is always the best. Even with 11.2.
     
  12. I_AM_L_FORCE

    I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's like saying 4.5 is still the best with 9.2 around
     
  13. Bu2d85

    Bu2d85 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    Country:
    United States
    It's better to go to 9.2. The lower firmware (2.1) is only used for installing a9lh.

    The other reply's you recieved were pretty much useless nonsense.
     
    einhuman197 likes this.
  14. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Germany
    9.2 is still better. It will change when all tools are compatible but it's not the same yet.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - different, possible, install