Homebrew Possible nag screen remover homebrew?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoneGrenade

IT Technician/Rookie Coder
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
~/ #
XP
256
Country
Canada
Hey everyone, long-time lurker here. I'm posting from my cell phone, so please pardon any mistakes.

As far as I'm aware, ninjhax allows for R/W access to extdata both on the SD card and NAND. Wouldn't this allow for someone to write a homebrew that could delete pending updates from the NAND on newer firmwares?

I've tried other methods that I've found throughout the forum, but I'm almost certain that updates aren't stored on the SD card anymore (at least on newer firmwares, i.e. 7.0+)

I'm willing to give it a shot, but I'm still somewhat of a beginner in terms of programming. I've taken courses in college on intermediate level java, but C++ and programming for this type of device is very new to me. Hopefully someone with more experience can get this project rolling.
 

LoneGrenade

IT Technician/Rookie Coder
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
~/ #
XP
256
Country
Canada
I'll definitely look into this more if no one else does, I imagine this homebrew would be in high demand. I'm in another country right now and won't be back home for another week. I won't be much help away from my computer, but maybe someone else can get started on it.
 

spinal_cord

Knows his stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
3,225
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
somewhere
Website
spinalcode.co.uk
XP
3,371
Country
I'd imagine that this sort of tool would be possibly the most popular applications besides the homebrew launcher itself. I would +1,000,000,000,000 for this post to be noticed by those who know how to reliably mess with NAND through ninjhax and (most importantly) know where the update is stored.

I, like many others (I assume) live in constant fear of accidentally pressing [A] when opening up my 3DS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: signz

LoneGrenade

IT Technician/Rookie Coder
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
~/ #
XP
256
Country
Canada
The more I think about it, disabling updates altogether seems like it could be possible too.

Again, I'm new to this device and am basically talking out of my ass right now, but I hope a more experienced coder could look into this for me.
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,857
Country
Belgium
Lucky i didn't get the update notice (yet) on my 3DS with 9.2.0.20E, but like spinal_cord says, you live in constant fear (of getting it) and then pressing the wrong button or for me, my kids getting there hands on my 3DS and update it if it ever downloads the update (atm, everything is blocked in my firewall, i can go online for browsing the web and youtube, but i can't access the e-shop and trying to update results in a connection error. (when i want to go to the eshop for my other 3DS or the 2DS from the kids, or the want to play online, i disable the rulez, before checking that my other 3DS is shut down complete (My WiFi is always turned off on that 3DS to)

(somewhere on this forum was a list of what to block in your routers firewall and that works fine for now)
 

LoneGrenade

IT Technician/Rookie Coder
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
~/ #
XP
256
Country
Canada
Lucky i didn't get the update notice (yet) on my 3DS with 9.2.0.20E, but like spinal_cord says, you live in constant fear (of getting it) and then pressing the wrong button or for me, my kids getting there hands on my 3DS and update it if it ever downloads the update (atm, everything is blocked in my firewall, i can go online for browsing the web and youtube, but i can't access the e-shop and trying to update results in a connection error.

(somewhere on this forum was a list of what to block in your routers firewall and that works fine for now)
Just be careful where you bring your 3ds. I have updates blocked through my router, but I managed to download an update through a McDonald's hotspot.
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,857
Country
Belgium
Just be careful where you bring your 3ds. I have updates blocked through my router, but I managed to download an update through a McDonald's hotspot.


That 3DS gets not out of the house! there i have my 3DS XL for that i keep clean and updated to play my legit games online and take with me outside, also i don't use any flashcart on my 3DS XL, i like to keep it that way, it has all my bought games and amabasador games and certificate on.

I'm just gonna see what i'll do once i get my N3DS Ambasador, transffer everything to it and use that as a clean Play one or not :)
 

RitchieRitchie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2013
Messages
787
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
772
Country
What happens if you accidentally update when you're on emunand to a firmware that is not supported by gateway? will it brick your console?
 

spinal_cord

Knows his stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
3,225
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
somewhere
Website
spinalcode.co.uk
XP
3,371
Country
  • Like
Reactions: signz

Intronaut

A star maker
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
772
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,005
Country
Chile
Formatting the system requires you to update i've read somewhere

It seems the 3ds asks to connect to the internet when you try a system format, but some members said if you have false connections in settings, the 3ds allows you to continue and format without connecting to internet or updating. Really weird.

Anyway, I can't confirm it. I will wait for the Gateway solution
 

LoneGrenade

IT Technician/Rookie Coder
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
~/ #
XP
256
Country
Canada
Update data is not stored in extdata.
I sincerely believe you're mistaken, but where would you suggest its located?

It's definitely not anywhere on the SD card, you can update without having the SD card inserted.
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,613
Trophies
2
XP
3,023
Country
Vietnam
I sincerely believe you're mistaken, but where would you suggest its located?

It's definitely not anywhere on the SD card, you can update without having the SD card inserted.
IIRC they will be stored as titles waiting for update finalization, when their data is imported in title.db

All this in nand of course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    cearp @ cearp: Welcome hazbeans