Pokemon White Menu Issue

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by TaintedEon, Mar 9, 2011.

Mar 9, 2011

Pokemon White Menu Issue by TaintedEon at 6:26 PM (1,039 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. TaintedEon
    OP

    Newcomer TaintedEon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering if this is normal due to emulation, but in shops menus and my pokemon summary the menus go way slower than the retail copy I have. Is that normal?
     
  2. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You probably have a low class microSD.
    The microSD class effects write and load speed
     
  3. TaintedEon
    OP

    Newcomer TaintedEon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any that you would reccomend? I have a 16 gig.

    EDIT:

    Will this card be better than a Class 2 16 Gig?

    Kingston 8 GB microSDHC Class 4 Flash Memory Card SDC4/8GB

    Is class the issue or is it the size?

    EDIT 2:

    Also, how can I back up saves? Do I just copy/paste? What if I want to change the Rom's Name, can I just change the .sav's name?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Flash carts DO NOT emulate games.

    Any slowdown is almost assuredly due to your MicroSD card, in fact faster flashcards can work BETTER than retail copies. For example, a card with a high Class rating (WRITE speed) can save faster than a retail cart -- this has been shown to happen in games with larger save files like WarioWare D.I.Y. and the Pokemon series.


    Class rating (2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12) is for the minimum WRITE speed of the card only.
    Game loading and play is related to the READ and RANDOM ACCESS times.
    While Class rating has nothing to do with the Read Speed/Random Access times, Writing at a fast speed is harder to do than Reading at a high speed so often (but not always) a high Class rating correlates to a high Read Speed and low Random Access time.



    How do you back up saves?
    - Copy them to another location

    What if I want to change the Rom's Name, can I just change the .sav's name?
    - Yes. The two names must match exactly.
     
  5. TaintedEon
    OP

    Newcomer TaintedEon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
  7. TaintedEon
    OP

    Newcomer TaintedEon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I ordered the Kingston AND the ADATA (Because I couldn't cancel my Kingston order >.
     
  8. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States
    I completely agree. A-data has been very good to me. Three 4 gig class 6 cards that have never corrupted in the three years I've used them.
    Thanks for the links, TS, I hadn't looked at 16 gig cards in quite some time. The prices are a lot more appealing now.
     
  9. TaintedEon
    OP

    Newcomer TaintedEon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    So do Kingston cards just break after a bit or what goes wrong? :X
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, I think that they're just a bigger company.
    By this I mean they they have a LOT of product out there, so if 0.001% of each of the products fail the 0.001% of 100,000,000 is 100,000 bad units vs 0.001% of 1,000,000 which is 1,000 bad units a significantly lower number, but same percentage. They could also be less strict on Quality Control, again the size of the company and the volume produced makes it more difficult.


    I'm not saying Kingston is bad or cheaply made or anything like that, for many years I used them almost exclusively for PC RAM because of their value (low price + low failure rate).
     
  11. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All my cards are Kingston and i've never had a problem with them. The only time they've corrupted is when I used the adapter included with the flashcart, completely messing it up (and losing my saves) on numerous occasions [​IMG]
     

Share This Page