Pokemon Ruby Clock Fix/Soultion for slot-2 Flashcarts

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by Chaos Rush, Feb 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chaos Rush
    OP

    Member Chaos Rush GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    If any of you guys have played Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald on a GBA Flashcart (such as an EZFlash 3-in-1), then you'll notice how you'll get the internal battery message.

    Now, for Ruby & Sapphire, I'm sure you guys have come across the partial solution, the program called, "gbata" which patches your Ruby/Sapphire rom to get the RTC working (but only while the game is being played). Well, I've come up with an almost complete solution to that, too.

    Basically, I've added a clock to every Pokemon Center, which you can reset as necessary.

    [​IMG]
    If you choose Yes, then you get to reset the clock. If you choose No, then you get another question:
    [​IMG]
    If you choose Yes, you view the time. If you choose No, then you exit.

    Unfortunately gbata still doesn't work with Emerald, which is why I only did this with Ruby. I got the idea from when somebody in another thread mentioned a G/S/C hack where you could reset the PokeGear clock.

    Here's the .ips patch:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gtg2zzn5kmk

    Now if only people can figure out how to get gbata to work with Emerald...

    EDIT: Yes, the patch already contains what gbata does to R/S.
     
    2 people like this.


  2. Kinqdra

    Member Kinqdra GBAtemp's Official T-shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Croatia
    Great idea! Do you by any chance know how to get S/R to work on the iPlayer?
     
  3. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    D'oh!

    My Ruby's internal clock is kind of messed up.
    The time is right on an emulator, but when I restore the save file to the retail cart, the time messes up and days don't advance at all.

    When I use your patch, I can change the clock fine, except it still messes up on my retail cart.

    Do you have any Codebreaker codes I could use with my retail cart to change the time?
     
  4. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The RTC battery in your cart has probably broken. If you link with Emerald its possible to get a fix, his patch is for Flashcarts only.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It would say it when I turn on the game...
     
  6. Chaos Rush
    OP

    Member Chaos Rush GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the broken link, it's fixed now.
     
  7. stevey5036

    Newcomer stevey5036 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    When I load Ruby to NOR ram and try to launch all I get is a blank white screen.. Is there a fix for this? I am running AKAIO 1.6RC2 and have an EZFlash V.
     
  8. King Harkinian

    Newcomer King Harkinian I wonder what's for dinner?

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Broken. I patched my game and it wouldn't let me get passed the title screen (when I pressed start it took me to the copyright info again). Why is this? I really want this fix.
     
  9. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Try a different rom.
     
  10. juju798

    Newcomer juju798 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Japan
    wow. good job this is smart! [​IMG]

    how did you do that? where/how do you start learning ASM ?
    I'd like to understand how those deep changes works. [​IMG]
     
  11. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Would it be possible to get a Sapphire version patch, if you still come on here?
    (And maybe patches for other languages?)
     
  12. 1776

    Newcomer 1776 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    This patch should work for Sapphire too. They should be the same.
     
  13. Chaos Rush
    OP

    Member Chaos Rush GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Well obviously it would be possible. But I'm too lazy to. And I made this patch two years ago, and there are more ideal ways I could have implemented it.

    No, it won't. This is because Sapphire has slightly different offsets for all of the tileset, map, and other data. That's just how the games were compiled.
     
  14. constantgamer247

    Member constantgamer247 Pourquoi?

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    When you say that it already contains what gbata does to R/S are you talking about the clock fix?

    So do you mean this IPS patch applys the clock fix that you can do in one tab of gbata and then adds a clock to the PokeCentres?

    What if I have a rom that is already clockFixed, can I just apply this IPS patch to it? It shouldn't matter right cuz the clockFix will just be over written with the clockFix and the PokeCentre Clocks will be added right?

    Sorry that post is so redundant >_<

    Also if it is not too much work would you be so kind as to compile an IPS patch for saphire, gold/silver/crystal?

    I'll do what I can to help you out with anything you ask of me. Plus you'll get good karma for doing this ^_^
     
  15. Chaos Rush
    OP

    Member Chaos Rush GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, my patch already contains the clock fix patch that gbata does. The gbata patch simply makes the clock run in-game. My patch does that, along with the ability to reset the clock, to compensate for the fact that you can't have the clock running in real-time.



    I don't know if you can, try it yourself. Or you could just get a clean Ruby rom, it's not that hard...

    Sapphire maybe. Gold/Silver/Crystal definitely not, it's unnecessary.
     
  16. constantgamer247

    Member constantgamer247 Pourquoi?

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know why I fixate on playing G/S/C roms, and having to have the internal clock work, when I have the origional cards and HG+SS >_<

    Sorry I always forget, make some hasty post about it... then remember.
     
  17. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I hope you find the time to apply this ingenious patch for Sapphire! :yaysp:
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    And what about other languages? Like the Japanese versions?
     
  19. constantgamer247

    Member constantgamer247 Pourquoi?

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you like Sapphire over Ruby?
     
  20. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    They're both good! :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page