Hacking Pokemon Fire Red VC not working

JayNobu

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
52
Country
Hi I'm on rxTools and everytime I run Fire Red I'm met with a message saying "an error has occured". I've installed the GBA patch previously and I have Pokemon Yellow working. It's not the .cia either because I've used multiple different versions which are tested and working.

Please help!
 

SomeGamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
6,827
Trophies
1
XP
4,902
Country
Hungary
Hi I'm on rxTools and everytime I run Fire Red I'm met with a message saying "an error has occured". I've installed the GBA patch previously and I have Pokemon Yellow working. It's not the .cia either because I've used multiple different versions which are tested and working.

Please help!
Visit its eShop page or import seed with FBI.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,146
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
Hi I'm on rxTools and everytime I run Fire Red I'm met with a message saying "an error has occured". I've installed the GBA patch previously and I have Pokemon Yellow working. It's not the .cia either because I've used multiple different versions which are tested and working.

Please help!
Update to Luma3DS: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-updating-from-rxtools-to-luma3ds.427735/ (if it's a specific problem with rxTools you won't be able to get help since rxTools is long obsolete).
Then replace the patched AGB FIRM with an unpatched version, since Luma patches this automatically. You can use 3DNUS to get the unpatched version.
Finally, delete the .cia you have (in data management) and you might have to delete the ticket with FBI. Then download & install freeShop, and get the game from there.

Edit: sorry, don't delete the cia. Got mixed up with Pokemon Red. But do get freeShop, it'll make your life much easier.
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
4,687
Country
United States
Update to Luma3DS: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-updating-from-rxtools-to-luma3ds.427735/ (if it's a specific problem with rxTools you won't be able to get help since rxTools is long obsolete).
Then replace the patched AGB FIRM with an unpatched version, since Luma patches this automatically. You can use 3DNUS to get the unpatched version.
Finally, delete the .cia you have (in data management) and you might have to delete the ticket with FBI. Then download & install freeShop, and get the game from there.
lol this is correct for the most part but fire red is a gba game and it is not on the eShop :P
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,145
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,621
Country
Norway
Hi I'm on rxTools and everytime I run Fire Red I'm met with a message saying "an error has occured". I've installed the GBA patch previously and I have Pokemon Yellow working. It's not the .cia either because I've used multiple different versions which are tested and working.

Please help!
rxTools does not work with GBA VC to my knowledge. Luma3DS works fine with them as long as you have them installed to sysNAND (so if you're using emuNAND, they need to be installed to both)
 

BADDINOROX99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
782
Trophies
0
XP
1,093
Country
United States
Hi I'm on rxTools and everytime I run Fire Red I'm met with a message saying "an error has occured". I've installed the GBA patch previously and I have Pokemon Yellow working. It's not the .cia either because I've used multiple different versions which are tested and working.

Please help!
you've got install it to your sysnand as well as a patched version of AGB

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Kids these days are so cute! That's Red version from the GB, not FireRed, which is GBA. Silly little kids.
U sound like pedo lol...
Anyways fire-red isnt on the eshop, its more colorfull then rby, and... yeah... u cant execute arbitrary code from within the game in firered without cheat/tools
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,958
Country
United States
I was using RXTools without a patched AGB_Firm and the GBA VC releases worked just fine, even better than on Luma TBH. The only issue was having to install them twice which sucks. There are still a few GBA titles that work with the double install method, but refuse to work with A9LH+Luma (Namely Pokemon hacks like Chapter Red and Flora Sky). I had to rebuild the patched CIA myself for it to work with Luma....... GBA VC is a weird thing.
 

YourHero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
1,025
Trophies
0
XP
502
Country
United States
U sound like pedo lol...
Anyways fire-red isnt on the eshop, its more colorfull then rby, and... yeah... u cant execute arbitrary code from within the game in firered without cheat/tools
It just reminds me how old I am, and that was the joke.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    being poor and healthy is the worst case scenario because you have the longest amount of time to "enjoy" being poor
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Yeah back in my late teens I used to mow about 10 lawns every two weeks for $35 a yard. It was stupid big yards I knew where paying a lot more than that to lawn care companies in a some what up tier gated community a few blocks from the area I lived. Was great getting $700 a month with no bills at the time and good excercise too, now I have bills so I never have any money to buy things.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yet kids are always like I WANNA BE ADULT
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I wish I could go back to 14, living at home free and little to no worries.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kids still have bs getting manipulated easily, believing dumb youtube content etc
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If I could go back, I'd be more of a horn ball than I am now. I'd be chasing all the girls I never had the balls to back then
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd drop out of school sooner
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Yeah I would probably drop out sooner too, the country ass high school I went to wouldn't know intelligence if it hit the up side the head.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I used to play those goonies games on NES, used to piss me off
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    I think the most frustrating nes game as a kid to me was contra.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    well, i got school tomorrow, night yall
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Imagine still going to school in 2024... Wild times we live in.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    @BigOnYa My most-hated game on the NES was gilligan's island. Couldn't figure out the controls. Played it on actual hardware. Super frustrating, and boring as shit.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Blue name in chat :P
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Jayro, you realize not everyone is the same age here right
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Jayro reminds me of GYRO! :P
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm not a greek taco. "Jayro" is pronounced similar to "J.Lo" (Jennifer Lopez). Not "Gyro" like gyroscope or the pitabread taco thing...
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    "Jay-row" Like that.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @Jayro, Hello