Hardware Please help. Nintendo switch wont turn on. Is it bricked ?

CagiB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
111
Country
Czech Republic
Hi,
yesterday, i was normally adding new games to sd card (fully poweroffed switch, removed sd card to pc and moved new game to in, than insert back to switch)
I have no autorcm, cuz i jig only once per 2-3 months.
Well i did everything normally without problems, but when i want to go to rcm mode to payload sx os, tegrarcm didnt recognized RCM mode.
Switch was at 100% battery before its been power offed.

now, switch cant load even OFW, i cant do anything with that switch now. 15 sec hold powerbutton didnt helped me. What can i do more ? I have been 24 hours in dock and still same.

Please help me, im actually in panic rn and testing everything
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hi,
yesterday, i was normally adding new games to sd card (fully poweroffed switch, removed sd card to pc and moved new game to in, than insert back to switch)
I have no autorcm, cuz i jig only once per 2-3 months.
Well i did everything normally without problems, but when i want to go to rcm mode to payload sx os, tegrarcm didnt recognized RCM mode.
Switch was at 100% battery before its been power offed.

now, switch cant load even OFW, i cant do anything with that switch now. 15 sec hold powerbutton didnt helped me. What can i do more ? I have been 24 hours in dock and still same.

Please help me, im actually in panic rn and testing everything
You have AutoRCM on?
 

CagiB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
111
Country
Czech Republic
Yes, official dock.
btw. switch doesnt pop battery icon when started charging, but 100% its charging, because its getting hot after while
 

CagiB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
111
Country
Czech Republic
What kind of joke was that. TEGRARCM detected RCM today, but yesterday not, ive did absolutly same things... Works now, thanks for help
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayato213

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,414
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
8,140
Country
United States
What kind of joke was that. TEGRARCM detected RCM today, but yesterday not, ive did absolutly same things... Works now, thanks for help

Because it probably wasn't in RCM mode, also if the connection between the computer and switch is no good, it won't pick it up, good idea to use a dongle or modchip.
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,284
Trophies
0
XP
2,131
Country
United States
Sounds like your "15 second powerbutton" didn't work. I've ran into 2 rare instances like yours where disconnecting and reconnecting the battery was all that was needed. Luckily the Switch is really easy to disassemble should this happen again in the future, at least to that level.
 

Bober791

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
152
Country
Poland
Hi to all. I tried in the Nintendo Switch downgrade, but now is brick. Not responding to anything, rcm or press power button + volume up. I used the Nevercholt Tech guide, FW 9.0 to 8.1.0.
 

Bober791

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
152
Country
Poland
But now I can't go into rcm, I can't do anything, nothing starts. I even have an rcm loader and nothing. Do I have to wait for some time?
 

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,414
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
8,140
Country
United States
But now I can't go into rcm, I can't do anything, nothing starts. I even have an rcm loader and nothing. Do I have to wait for some time?

Look like you messed up your NAND , should never follow any youtube video, ChoidujourNX flashing a lower firmware isn't downgrade. You might have to rebuild if you can't boot into Horizon OS if you unit actually turn on, you should figure that out first.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bober791

Bober791

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
152
Country
Poland
4 hours of stress and I was able to run rcm, now I'm trying to restore a backup, luckily I got it from the beginning of switch hacking, maybe it will work. BTW, this version 9.0.1 works terribly in some applications, the buttons for example edizon, checkpoint do not work at all. in 8.1.0 there was no problem
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,284
Trophies
0
XP
2,131
Country
United States
BTW, this version 9.0.1 works terribly in some applications, the buttons for example edizon, checkpoint do not work at all. in 8.1.0 there was no problem

You need to stay off YouTube and lurk around here more. Everybody already knew this, you could have saved yourself a lot of trouble.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bober791

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,284
Trophies
0
XP
2,131
Country
United States
Details can be found on Atmosphere's release page:
https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases/tag/0.9.4

Basically, 9.x made changes to how inputs worked. Homebrew needs to be re-compiled using the latest version of libnx in order to fix the button issue. The latest version of Atmosphere includes a temporary mitm module to get homebrew to work without being re-compiled, but I don't think SX OS has any such module.

So either switch to Atmosphere or download the latest version of any homebrew you use. If you're already on the latest version and they still haven't released a newer version, you can either recompile it yourself if you know how, or just wait until they do eventually update it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bober791
General chit-chat
Help Users
    SAIYAN48 @ SAIYAN48: 4k 75hz