Please Help - I need boo1a BootBlocs with installed BootMii as

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Malibran, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Malibran
    OP

    Newcomer Malibran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hi

    I hope, i get help here...
    For my Wii i search the boot1a Bootbloc with installed BootMii as Boot2.
    I have buy an old Wii with FullBrick and I would like flash bootmii with Infectus.

    Thank You
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    it doent have to be that exact copy of boot1. you can dump whatever copy of boot1 you need from the nand of the bricked wii.
     
  3. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    What kind of guide is this supposed to be?
    How not to write english?

    You can't change the boot1 version.
    While it is possible to write it with eg Infectus it will do you no good.
    Boot0 will simply refuse it because of the changed checksum.

    I don't get why you want the indirection anyway.
    Simply use the Infectus instead of bootmii to write the final nand.

    edit:
    Hmmm http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Boot1 say only the original one will work.
    You sure about that exact copy part?
    But getting it of the wii should work.
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i think you misunderstand what i is trying to do. he wants a copy of boot1 & boot2 from a wii with a specific version of boot1 and bootmii installed. then he wants to flash that to a bricked wii to fix it.

    what i said is that he is asking for something a lot more specific then he really needs to have. he already has the exact version of boot1 that he needs. so he only needs bootmii.
     
  5. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    strangely, I've read about copying boot1 & boot2 with bootmii as boot2, with infectus.

    And the guy who did it, said his wii couldn't install bootmii as boot2, but with infectus he rewrote those blocks & converted a non-boot1 bug wii (bootmii) into a working boot1 bug bootmii one.
     
  6. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Then he's lying. You can't change boot1.
     
  7. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    boot1 is hardcoded... right? the checksum it hashes must be equal with the one in boot2?
     
  8. Malibran
    OP

    Newcomer Malibran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hi

    I have a bricked bootmii as boot2 Wii, but no bootmii installed.
    Maybe.. it´s a hardware brick.

    If i flash boot1b Boot2v4, Wii FlashToolz say: Boot1b .... Boot2: unknown
    Also i have flashed boot1b boot2v2 and boot1b boot2v3 and boot1b boot2v4, but alway the same....
    With Infectus you can change the boot1 Version

    And the blue light on DVD ROM does not flash, it is continuously shining.
    I want try a flash with boot1a
     
  9. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Seeing on the above screenshot, it would be hard to find boot1a...

    Edit: Hmm, how would one find out which boot1 version is on his Wii?
     
  10. Malibran
    OP

    Newcomer Malibran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, i know ... but before i get this wii...
    Somebody has already tried to flash with the Infectus Chip.

    So i want to flash at the last test the Boot1a Version.

    With the infectus chip i read the boot blocks from this wii.
    FlashToolz means .... Boot1b Boot2v2, maybe ... the guy has flashed a wrong Boot1, becauce the blue dvd light is not flashing, it´s shining continuously...
    So the boot1 is wrong or broken
     
  11. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Or something else is broken.
    Without history of what happened to that wii before, it will be hard to tell.
     
  12. akari212

    Member akari212 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    for what I know

    Boot1 is hashed with "per console keys" same with boot2. So you cant just put any bootloader information on your Wii without knowing the "per console key".

    But I think there's a way to use other peoples NAND dumps but you still need the key that is paired on that donors NAND and re-encrypt it with your own key.

    tl;dr. It's impossible to fix bricks alone with a flasher.

    BTW: you can have this keys by using BootMii and perform a NAND backup. After that, your SD card will contain 2 files. 1 is NAND.bin and other 1 is key.bin
     
  13. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i think you are misinformed. you can copy boot1 from any wii that contains the correct version to your wii. there is no per-console magic to worry about within those first 8 blocks of the nand. it is not AES encrypted with your nand key, and it is not signed with the HMAC, and in some cases, there is not even ECC data written out.
     

Share This Page