Please help, I bricked my 2ds .

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by PerryH17, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    I tried to update through safe mode but it says the mode is not supported. How do i reset my ds back to normal? Thanks.
     


  2. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    And why'd you try to update your 2DS?

    We need more info anyway. What were you doing? Is A9LH installed? do you have NAND backup on your SD card?
     
  3. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    i tried to update to get out of the brick. it is installed and yes i have a backup but it is on my computer
     
  4. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Out of what brick? If you installed A9LH you're not bricked. Was it the Failed to mount CTRNAND error? That's not a brick. Or maybe when you turn on the console it immediately shuts off and the blue light just flashes? That's not a brick either. I need more info in order to help you.

    Generally speaking you should be following 3DS.Guide (a website), and on installed A9LH step after installing A9LH you configure Luma by holding select when booting the console, then restore the system with the backup you have by holding Start when booting the console and restoring NAND with (keep a9lh) option
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Feb 5, 2017
    Quantumcat likes this.
  5. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    The error is in safe mode and says not supported on 1.x/2.x Firm. I used the 3ds guide and after i checked all the required boxes in luma, i pressed save and my system just booted into two black screens. it would not load decrypt 9 when i tried to reboot.
     
  6. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Quoted straight from the guide after configuring Luma:

    Press (Start) to save and reboot
    • If you get a black screen, just continue to the next section

    That's NOT a brick. You shouldn't be using safe mode or whatever, what you should be doing is loading Hourglass9 to install your NAND backup. If you cannot get into H9 by holding Start on reboot, you are not the only person with this problem. What you should do in this case is this:

    Temporarily remove the current arm9loaderhax.bin from your SD card. Copy the Hourglass9.bin file to the root of your SD card and rename it arm9loaderhax_si.bin. This should result in Hourglass9 immediately being loaded when the console is turned on. Credit for this fix goes to @squall14716 .. The only reason I know about it is because he posted it in another thread.
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Feb 5, 2017
    Quantumcat likes this.
  7. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    I tried to go through marking what i needed to in luma just now. When I pressed save I was brought to a screen that was prompting me to set up the ds as if it was a new system. Top screen was stretched.
     
  8. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    I really have no idea what you're doing man. Just follow the above instructions to restore your backup. It is impossible to boot luma if A9LH is not installed, so with the above instructions you will get into Hourglass9 and you will get to restore your system.

    You should've never strayed from the guide to begin with. Why do people always come here after they're presumably bricked, but not when they run into a wall during the hack process? What makes you think straying from the guide and doing whatever is okay? The worst that can happen is a brick. Fortunately, you're not bricked. Just follow the guide please.
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Feb 5, 2017
    Quantumcat likes this.
  9. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    decrypt 9 works now thank you!
     
  10. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Hourglass and Decrypt9 are two different programs though they function almost identically. You definitely used H9, not D9 .. Juuust saying. Glad to hear you got it working though!. Once you've restored backup go back to the 3DS.Guide and follow it all the way through. If you run into any problems just post in this thread.
     
    PerryH17 likes this.
  11. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    Yeah its my bad. I appreciate your help though.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    After i go through the restore process, do i need to take the .bin file off of the root of the sd card?
     
  12. yusuo

    yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,526
    883
    Oct 19, 2006
    no leave it on or your 3ds wont boot
     
  13. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    What are you talking about? Above I told him to replace arm9loaderhax.bin file with Hourglass9 and renaming it to armloader9hax_si.bin file. Of course @PerryH17 must now revert this process. Put the armloader9hax_si.bin file back to luma/payloads and rename it to start_Hourglass9.bin. Then, put the arm9loaderhax.bin file that you earlier removed back onto the SD card.

    If he does nothing he will just keep booting into H9.
     
    PerryH17 likes this.
  14. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    i have done this and arrived at section 5. how do i boot into the hourglass 9 now? when I hold start on boot up it does not load
     
  15. yusuo

    yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,526
    883
    Oct 19, 2006
    I did not know you advised this but yes, if that is the case then he must do this
     
  16. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Are you certain you are pushing and holding start and THEN powering on the device? It really should work so I don't understand why it doesn't.

    Anyway you could do the above steps again .. Remove arm9loaderhax.bin, move hourglass file to root, rename to arm9loaderhax_si.bin. Then inject FBI. But then you would have to revert what you just did in order to get to home menu, and then you'd have to do it again to restore H&S .. and then you'd have to revert it once more. Annoying.

    Alternatively do this: Download the FBI .3dsx file and put it in the 3DS folder. Also download Soundhax files again and fasthax files as well if you don't have them. Then launch Soundhax to get into Homebrew Launcher, from there run fasthax, press Start to get back into HBL, then run FBI and finally install FBI.cia with the FBI you're using.

    Both methods are kinda convoluted but I'd probably opt in for the 2nd choice as it's very fast. Once you have FBI installed the rest is a cakewalk.
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Feb 5, 2017
  17. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    after step 12 in section 6 i get an error that says failed to paste content
     
  18. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Make sure you're following the guide word to word. If it still doesn't work then I don't know. But you should know that this step is only required to make the console boot without an SD card. It doesn't actually matter if you do this step or not, but if your SD card breaks you won't be able to boot the console until you get a new SD card. Since all of your games will be on the SD card anyway it probably doesn't really matter if you can't boot when you don't have an SD.

    If you did Method 2 above then you can skip Steps 17, 18 and 19 as you go on with the guide for obvious reasons. If you can't make SDless boot work, then also skip steps 20 - 24 - which means you've now completed the guide. Gz.
     
    Last edited by Distrance, Feb 5, 2017
  19. PerryH17
    OP

    PerryH17 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 5, 2017
    United States
    idk im following it exactly i just get an error when trying to paste in current directory
     
  20. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,143
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Well like I said it's not a necessary step so you can skip it. You can always set it up later if someone here knows how to fix it.