Apple Plan for a GBAtemp Spire Proxy Host?

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hello Tempers.

Before I continue, I just really, really hope this does not break the GBAtemp rules in anyway. If it does, do just delete this thread and forget about it.

So, yeah here goes:
After hearing about Spire, I've figured out that all free available proxy hosts are overcrowded, and so I thought that maybe we should have our own GBAtemp Spire proxy host.

The guides to start one include this one from GBAtemp and this one from an external website.

Now here's the plan: I'm a complete Linux noob (got my first Linux OS which is Ubuntu only last week), so I'm going to need someone who's willing to actually host the server on his/her Linux computer and keep it up and running.

I don't want to be useless so I wouldn't mind being financial support, since I really can't help in actually hosting the server itself. If you know anyone who'd give you his/her iPhone 4S keys for a price, I can probably cover that will PayPal.

So, basically, all I need is:
  • Someone who will actually host the Spire proxy
  • Someone who (has a friend that?) wants to give out 4S keys
Also, we're gonna want to keep this Spire proxy GBAtemp-exclusive.. Only way I can think of is by having this thread only visible to signed in members. I wonder if any mod has the ability to do so once the proxy is up and running.

So, yeah. Cheers :yay:

Do feel free to PM me should you ever need to.

EDIT: Another matter we'll need to discuss is the fact that many people (including myself) are often having problems actually downloading Spire, as it keeps getting stuck at the "Preparing Spire" phase, so if anyone knows an alternative repo/source to get Spire from, please do share it here. :)

SifJar

Not a pirate
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country