1. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone

    My daughter is obsessed with Pikmin 3 and would love to have the DLC so she can access extra levels. I would have paid for it but it is now not possible to do this.

    I have the original Pikmin 3 game as a disk.

    I have followed the community noob guide and I have loadline GX2, AOC patcher and WUP installer on my SD card. I can view these from the wii U screen (via u.wiidb.de)

    I used JNUSTool to download the DLC pack for Pikmin 3 and have put it on the SD card as sd:/wiiu/games/titles/0005000c1012be00/aoc0005000c1012be00

    It does not work unfortunately.

    Is it possible to do it this way? I have read that Pikmin 3 is slightly different because it has the maps already on the disk and the DLC just unlocks them.

    Can anyone please help me and my daughter?
     
  2. wiiuepiccpu

    wiiuepiccpu vanCFW tester
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    try installing it with wup installer gx2 and put the game's location into a folder called install
     
  3. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    ^- This. Put the .app, .h3, .tik, .cmd and .tmd files from JNUSTool to "sd:/install/Pikmin 3 DLC [0005000c1012be00]", then install it with WUP Installer. If that's still too complicated try NUSspli, it will download and install the DLC in one run.
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  4. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for the help guys!

    I moved all of the files into the sd:/install like you said and loaded WUP installer. It recognised it and when I installed it says "possible missing or bad title.tik file"

    I used the tik file that I got from using tik2sd and used the "dump from CD" option

    Should I be using a different one?
     
  5. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes: Use the one JNUSTool gave you.
     
  6. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried and it came up with an error with the title certs

    I have cleared the install folder, installed NUSSpli and I am trying again! Wish me luck!
     
  7. wolf-snake

    wolf-snake GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,233
    Country:
    Mexico
    Just remember even if you have the disk you'll still need to launch some sort of Signature patcher like Mocha, Haxchi and other stuff.
     
  8. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    Tickets are beasts. So much that even you're missing a fact here: Disc tickets can be patched (brazillian method) to run on every console without signature patches.

    Anyway, while I expect every modern (read: Released in the last 5 years) ticket dumper to patch the tickets on the fly the OP owns the game disc, not the DLC, so there is no on-disc ticket he could patch in the first place and as such a fake-ticket (like NUSspli creates it) will be the way to go.

    @anon44785 Did NUSspli work for your case? :)
     
  9. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys

    I downloaded it all (took ages!), it shows up with all the 32 files complete and went to install (to nand) and it comes up with an error:

    Internal error installing "/vol/app_sd/install/. /" Your homebrew launcher channel is probably outdated

    I went into the HB app store (from the menu) and the home brew launcher is v1. 4 and doesn't have an update option.

    Am I missing anything else? I feel so close!
     
  10. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
  11. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The quest continues!

    I installed Mocha, installed the homebrew launcher in the link above and installed the files using NUSspli. It went to 100% and vibrated. Yay!!!

    I went back out of NUSspli, back to the home screen and there was a second Pikmin3 logo. The one at the top left has the CD behind, the new one at the bottom right has no CD. I am sure that the bottom right version is the installed one because it is noticeably faster to load.

    When I click on it, it does not let me access the DLC! It loads up to the title screen but it shows the DLC as locked. When I click then it takes me to the e-shop. Oh how I wish I could just pay for the levels!!! It is mocking me now.

    Is there anything that I have missed?
     
  12. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    @anon44785 I'm a bit drunk right now but there shouldn't be two logos. Did you ever rip the Pikmoin 3 disc or are you still trying to run it from the optical disc? Also are you sure the game and the DLC are from the same region?
     
  13. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @V10lator Hope you had a nice night!

    I never ripped the disc or anything. I just downloaded the DLC and installed it.

    I assume that my disc version is European (live here and bought in a local shop years ago, maybe 2015) and I think the DLC is the European version. Its title is 00050001012be00. I can almost remember that title off by heart now from typing it so many times!
     
  14. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    I never used DLC with a disc, so not sure about that but I guess the DLC needs to be at the same location the games save file is. So if the save file is on NAND (which I guess it is, look into the Wii Us data management to make sure) the DLC should be there, too, but you installed it to USB I guess? No need to reinstall now, just use the Wii Us data management (under settings) to move the DLC from USB to NAND. [EDIT]After that reboot the console, just to make sure all metadata gets updated accordingly.[/EDIT]

    If that still doesn't work I would suggest ripping the disc and installing the main game to USB, then install the DLC to USB, too. That works for sure but you'll need to transfair savegames and everything, so also no simple task.

    //EDIT²: NAND is the Wii Us internal memory.
     
    Last edited by V10lator, Jul 4, 2020
  15. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for the super quick reply

    I installed the DLC to NAND, I dont have a USB device plugged into the wiiu at all. The only other thing plugged in is the SD card but I have never chosen to install to that (if you can? Im not sure)

    I dont think transferring the saved games is a big issue if it is very difficult. She likes to play the full game through anyway every few months. She is obsessed! I dont think there is anything to unlock either? Il have to ask.

    I went into data management. The is only one section for Pikmin 3. In it there are 4 parts:
    Pikmin 3 software - 3866 MB (seems to correlate to the DLC size)
    Pikmin 3 update data - 356MB (a patch I think, there is a title key for the patch. I didnt download this directly, it must have been downloaded by the wiiu years ago)
    Mickey - Save data 29MB
    Shared save data 1536KB

    There is 9780MB free space in the system memory

    So what do you think the best thing to do is?
     
  16. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    If you want to try ripping the disc use Disc2App to get files installable with WUP Installer or NUSspli, then install these to NAND. If I'm correct everything should work without the disc afterwards (no need to move savegames around as you don't have a USB drive / we stay in NAND). It might be a good idea to backup the save files with SaveMii through.

    But wait... After reading your posts again: Could it be that you accidentially downloaded and installed Pikmin 3 itself with NUSspli? I mean this part:
    The DLC shouldn't add a new icon. Have a look at sd:/install, there should be a folder called "Pikmin 3 [TID]" - Is the TID 0005000c1012be00 or 000500001012be00? 0 is the game itself while c is the DLC. If you accifentially downloaded and installed the main game don't worry, it's basically the same as ripping the disc. Just use NUSspli with the correct title ID (0005000c1012be00) again, then forget about the disc.
     
    Last edited by V10lator, Jul 4, 2020
  17. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The folder is called:
    Pikmin邃「 3 [000500001012be00]

    You are right! I must have downloaded the game! Doh!!!

    I will set it to download now. My internet is super slow so I will report back tonight!
     
  18. V10lator

    V10lator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Germany
    Why is Nintendo using UTF-16 for game names but UTF-8 for filenames? That's plain stupid... Anyway, it's also off-topic, sry for the little rant.

    Haha, don't worry, we all do such mistakes from time to time. I'm just glad we where able to sort this out. :)

    It's not only the internet but also the fact that the Wii U reaches around 4 Mbit/s (0.5MB/s) max on one CPU core (and a LAN adapter, speeds with WiFi are generally lower and hardly dependant on the wireless signal quality). NUSspli is not yet multitasked enough to use all 3 CPU cores for simultaneous downloads but I'm working on it.

    Keep us informed if the new download will fix it. :)
     
  19. anon44785

    OP anon44785 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It worked!Yay

    I downloaded it (the correct one this time), ran mocha, installed using wup installer and then ran the game... And it loaded the dlc!

    Thank you for all of the help and you have made my daughter (and me) extremely happy

    What a great community this is
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - available, Pikmin, longer