1. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all!

    I just bought a vanilla switch running 4.0.1 and I was wondering what the community recommends. Rundown:

    I'm planning to stay offline until smash bros. launches, so I wanted to 'sample' some content. Should I go R4S, SX, or REI w Android?

    I imagine I will have to make a backup of my OFW plus whatever keys are in the FW.

    If anyone can link me some tuts that would be great! (looked around but with 6.0.0 coming out recently I think its best to ask)


    Thanks all!

    T
     
  2. aerios169

    aerios169 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    665
    Country:
    Mexico
    right now you can updapte and do a nanbackup or do a nandbackup and then updapte with choi and stayoffline. at the moment 4.1 doesnt have any adventage, just watch that you dont have patched unit. ( the diference beweent the 2 methods is that the firts burn fuses and the 2 not, fuses are check by the console to see if is on the correct fw)
     
    Last edited by aerios169, Oct 11, 2018
  3. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,710
    Country:
    Portugal
  4. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
  5. aerios169

    aerios169 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    665
    Country:
    Mexico
    you can try to run hekate to really see if is patched
     
  6. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    United States
    If your switch is exploitable. you should do in order:
    1. Set Up Airplane Mode
    2. Send Hekate to the Switch and Do a Nand Backup.
    3. Update the switch using ChoiDuJourNX to at least firmware 5.1.0 [Since there are games that needs a firmware 5.x to be decrypted using tinfoil.]
    4. Activate AUTORCM, to avoid burning fuses.
    5. Choose your CFW flavor [RAJ / REI / Hekate + Atmo]
    6. Enjoy!
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  7. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is exactly what I was looking for!

    I will report back if anything but if nobody else has any other input I think this thread is as good as closed!

    Thanks again for the help everyone!
     
    ScarletDreamz likes this.
  8. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    United States
    Please note that AUTORCM will always boot you into RCM, instead fo Horizon, so you will always have to send the payload when booting, if you dont use AUTORCM, and boot into horizon, you will burn your fuse, so no more going back to 4.x
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  9. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the heads up. Is there any disadvantage to AUTORCM? I read that 5.1 is the FW that most are on, I believe it has the exFAT support.

    Also, any spots for getting started tutorials?
     
    Last edited by tayshun12, Oct 11, 2018
  10. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    United States
    You can install the ExFat update on any firmware, using ChoiDuJourNX, even on your current firmware, theres an option for that on ChoiDuJourNX.

    A Disadvantage would be that you will have to send a payload to your switch, each time you want to use it, [Send a payload via, Dongle / Phone / Computer].

    If you dont have any trouble with no going back to 4.x [Someday possible warm boot], then you can use Choi to update to any firmware you want and use it normally. [No Downgrade Posible ;D]
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  11. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,223
    Country:
    United States
    Choi automatically enables autoRCM by default when updating with it, so step 4 is unnecessary ;)
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  12. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    United States
    No it does not, it ASK you if you want to enable it, so, if you dont have use for it, you can just simple press NO. C:
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  13. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,223
    Country:
    United States
    For me the autorcm option is enabled by default ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
  14. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info! I just 3d printed my jig and am in the process of backing up. I will be using autoRCM because I do want the possibility of going back to my OFW backup. which brings me to my last questions.

    1. Should I just upgrade to 5.1.0 and do a backup again?
    2. I've been hearing a lot about 'Logs' and the possibility of a ban. If I restore from a backup will it also restore the old log file?
    3. Looking into backups, it seems as if the SX .XCI files are 'safer' because they use cartridge backups as opposed to a dl from ninty. If I create an offline profile now, restore when smash comes out would I be generally "OK" using an .nsp {I know there is a risk with either format just want to be the most cautious}

    Thanks again everybody!
     
  15. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,710
    Country:
    Portugal
    If you stay offline, the format of the backups you use is irrelevant
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  16. Khar00f

    Khar00f GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Canada
    Wasn't there an issue with AutoRCM that different tools enabled different versions and they weren't compatible and if you enabled one with a tool and disabled it with another that it could/would brick the switch?

    That's the reason I've never used it. Who knows 3-6 months from now what tool I used to enable it.
     
  17. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I installed 5.1.0 with choidujour AutoRCM enabled no problem :)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I used ChoiDujour and it did have the option for autoRCM enabled by default when installing (its green on the left side). When you click to disable a giant warning comes up detailing what you had told me. needless to say I kept it enabled.
     
  18. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, then my bad, sorry for the confusion i might created.

    Hope everything went well C:
     
    tayshun12 likes this.
  19. tayshun12

    OP tayshun12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Not at all! everything went well and I am up and running.

    Thanks for all your help :)

    T
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - vanilla, Picked, switch