Phantasy Star 0

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by kahsajara, Nov 21, 2009.

Nov 21, 2009

Phantasy Star 0 by kahsajara at 12:11 AM (5,815 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. kahsajara
    OP

    Newcomer kahsajara Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Australia
    Which drop rates are legit and identical to the retail card?

    Can someone with both cards, retail and not, compare and test this please?

    Bahamut not patch = Less than Bahamut patched
    Bahamut patched = More or Less than Retail???

    Not tested:
    XPA not patched = ?
    XPA patched = ?
    (Also, if XPA patched can both see retail users and XPA users, wouldn't that mean XPA Patched, would have legit drop rates?)
    Or could it all just be random conclusions and paranoid delusions?

    I want to play legit, Thanks
     


  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Both Bahamut and XPA's ROMs are the same. I have checked and double checked and checked again.

    Here's the CRC32's for the various files with and without patching:
    Code:
    Xenophobia (unfixed*, unpatched, untrimmed) CRC32 = A16C7F05
    
    Xenophobia (fixed*, unpatched, untrimmed)ÂÂ CRC32 = E5C6E212
    BahamutÂÂÂÂ(normal, unpatched, untrimmed)ÂÂ CRC32 = E5C6E212
    
    Xenophobia (patched, including auto-trim)ÂÂ CRC32 = A970B86F
    BahamutÂÂÂÂ(patched, including auto-trim)ÂÂ CRC32 = A970B86F
    
    
    *When XPA released their ROM, they messed up and there was a problem with it.
    That problem could be easily fixed, and when fixed becomes the SAME ROM, byte-for-byte, as Bahamut.
    To fix the ROM, you just add a bunch of "FF"'s in a hex editor to increase it to the proper length/size
    To prove my point even further... Bahamut, in their patch flat out says they ripped XPA's patch with no alterations (to the patch itself other than to work on their ROM) even leaving the Xenophobia "crack" screen that shows up on patched versions of the ROM.

    Once you 'fix' the XPA ROM by adding FF's to match the length (the 'FF's are what gets cut off when you trim a ROM), XPA's and Bahamut's ROMs are byte-for-byte identical to eachother.


    With that said, I'll now address the question you asked about drop rates, and include my theory as to why there are differences in drop rates between patched and unpatched ROMs.

    When playing on an unpatched ROM, the vast majority of items you will find are consumables with weapons and armor appearing sparsely and spells being next to impossible to find. When you apply the patch, the drop rate changes, not the total number of items, but the ratio. Armor and weapons become a bit more common, and spells actually appearing with a semblance of frequency (but still not common).
    Given how exceptionally rare spells are and what people have said on other forums (that seem to be rather hard-line legit players), I have to go with the patched version having proper drops.

    I think the lower drop rates on the unpatched ROM are part of a new, subtle type of Anti-Piracy check that the game does and it's possible that it was only found out because it was tied directly to online play. They know they can't stop us, so they'll throw a monkey wrench in our works and keep us from the good items.
     
  3. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    This.
    You know, when I first raised the doubt about the drop rates, I did not mention all the discrepancies of the drops I got with the patched rom.
    When I first played the game, I did it with no patch at all, and managed to find (luckyly, I know) a level 3 Resta on my second run (Quest). After this, I've only managed to find another spell several quests later (it was Barta level 2, in case You wanna know).
    Meanwhile, I've found several armors and weapons, but of course consumables (mostly monomates/fluids) were more often, but that was how PSO DC was too, so no "big" deal for me.
    Then I played online once (no patch yet) with random people, once with a forum fellow and never more managed to matchmake with random people. So I've "heard" about the problem certain carts had on "seeing" others online, and that I had to patch the rom.
    Ok, I did it, I patched the rom. Guess what? I still wasn't able to matchmake, and no one from my friend list was online anymore, so I decided to play alone online. I've picked an online quest (don't remember which, but it was on Snowlands) and started playing... From the first box, no consumable came out, only weapons and armors... And the following ones were more or less the same, only dropping materials, digrinders, photon, etc... It was wierd, because I've reached the "boss" with only about 4 monomates and 1 monofluid, but lots of weapons, armors, materials, and some trimates/fluids.
    Ok, I've played another one scratching my head, but ok... The same thing happened! Then I thought it could be because I was online, so I decided to disconnect and try it offline.
    This time I chose the Mag quest (forgot it's name), and the same thing happend again, and even worse, since a lot of red drops appeared, and on one specific room, the unacceptable (at least for me) happened: from the boxes of 1 room I managed to get:
    • 1 pure Mag (lvl 1)
    • 1 Yth (a mag at level 23)
    • A level 7 Zonde spell (which I can't use, btw)
    • a level 4 Foie spell
    • 2 4-slots armors
    • 1 5 slots (all of 'em I could't use, since They weren't for my class type)
    • 1 trigrinder
    • 2 materials from 2 red drops (I don't remember which)
    • some digrinders (2 or 3)
    • and some trimates (1 or 2)
    You know, this above list is not, by any chance (in my opinion), normal on any circunstancies other than messing with the drop rate.
    Also, I've managed so see some rare enemies a lot of times, not sporadic as they should be.

    Well, that's what I have to say about this matter. Maybe I'm wrong, but every time I patch the rom the drop rate seem to be messed up for me, but maybe PS0 is more "nice" on dropping than PSO DC was...
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Those are some CRAZY drops...
    I've never seen anything like that (and I'm 'stuck' in the tower, so I can't really check) but on my patched ROM, the drops in the tower aren't bad -- they're quite balanced actually... money frequently, a couple weapons with an armor every so often, with mates/fluids and a few spells thrown in.
    In fact, I've never seen the treasure boxes drop all weapons/armor, I think at most I've seen 2 weapons + 1 armor + a few money.
     
  5. FencingFoxFTW

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    well I'm on AKAIO, loader from last week(same day the game was released I think), XPA unpatched, and I got some stuff from the Snowland quest(the one where Ogi finds a body):

    a trimate
    4 digrinders
    1 power mat
    Shield Robe w 4 slots
    Light resist lvl3
    1 Deo Calibur
    lots of other stuff I just sold(guns) or fed the mag with(other weapons and armors)

    I dunno...maybe some ppl are unlucky
     
  6. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've made two runs now so I could kinda compare'em, ok? One of the runs was with a patched rom, and the other was with an "clear" (unpatched) rom. I know that the drops are random, and that you cannot really make an 1-on-1 comparisson, but I think this can give You all an "image" of what I'm saying.
    The setup was:
    Flascart: R4 DS (original)
    Rom release: Xenophobia (XPA)
    Stage: Paru
    Difficulty: Normal
    Access method: Only accessed the stage, no quests
    Partners: Sarissa and Ogi
    Online: No

    Usable Items

    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPatched / unpatched
    MomomateÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂx1ÂÂ/ x2
    DimateÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂx5ÂÂ/ x14
    TrimateÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x4ÂÂ/ x4
    MonofluidÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x3ÂÂ/ x4
    DifluidÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x0ÂÂ/ x2
    Sol AtomizerÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂx2ÂÂ/ x13
    Moon AtomizerÂÂÂÂÂÂ x2ÂÂ/ x2
    Star AtomizerÂÂÂÂÂÂ x2ÂÂ/ x7
    Trap VisionÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x2ÂÂ/ x0
    Scape DollÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂx0ÂÂ/ x1
    Here You can see the difference on "consumables" found one both "versions".

    Weapons

    Code:
    Understanding the codes: N = Native, B = Beast, M = Machine, D = Dark,ÂÂA = Accuracy adjustment and Z = All stats
    
    -=Patched=-
    Ray ClaymoreÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Ray ClaymoreÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Chrome DaggersÂÂÂÂÂÂ15% B
    Deo RipperÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ29% M
    Iron LanceÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Double BladeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ37% B
    Double BladeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ31% M
    StunDouble BladeÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Double EdgeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 50% M
    HeatClear PulseÂÂÂÂ 25% MÂÂ21% D
    Clear PulseÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0% Z
    Clear PulseÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0% Z
    Clear PulseÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 17% M
    DarEin CannonÂÂÂÂÂÂ 43% D
    Ein CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ24% N
    Ein CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Ein CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ46% M
    Ein CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ22% D
    Ein CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ19% D
    DrawEin CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂ31% NÂÂ15% B
    Total: 20 weapons
    
    -=Unpatched=-
    HeatRay ClaymoreÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    HeartClear BangleÂÂÂÂ0% Z
    Double BladeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 0% Z
    Chrome CannonÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0% Z
    StunEin CutterÂÂÂÂÂÂ27% BÂÂ15% D
    Total: 5 Weapons
    Where do You think I can get more weapons? I Think the difference is too much...

    Armors

    Code:
    -=Patched=-
    Scale ArmorÂÂÂÂÂÂ 3 Slots
    Scale ArmorÂÂÂÂÂÂ 4 Slots
    Brigandine ArmorÂÂ0 Slots
    Shock FrameÂÂÂÂÂÂ 3 Slots
    Shock FrameÂÂÂÂÂÂ 3 Slots
    Total: 5 armors
    
    -=Unpatched=-
    White RobeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0 Slots
    Mist RobeÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 4 Slots
    Total: 2 armors
    Even though the difference is not so high, there is a difference.

    Mags

    I've found 1 mag (an Yul) using the patched rom. It is a pure power level 23 mag.

    Slot Items

    I've found 1 Ace/Swift using the unpatched rom

    Special Items
    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Patched / Unpatched
    AntiLV7ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x1 / x0
    Small ScrapÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x3 / x0
    Photon DropÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x3 / x4
    MonogrinderÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x3 / x5
    DigrinderÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x5 / x0
    Hit MaterialÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂx1 / x2
    Mind MaterialÂÂÂÂÂÂ x2 / x1
    Swift MaterialÂÂÂÂÂÂx0 / x1
    Most Photon Drops on the patched rom were found on normal boxes, some on the "after-wiping-all-enemies" box and one on a yellow box. Most yellow boxes on the patched rom were red drops.


    Well, that's it. I belive this can give you a good picture of the drop rate differences between the patched and the "clear" rom.
    Maybe I'm being paranoyd, but I don't know, for me it just does not seems to be only a anti-piracy method...
     
  7. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm going to assume that CycloDS unpatched has legit drop rates, as it connects with the legit/patched versions fine.
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with this 100%
    I'm pretty sure that the lowered drop rate is tied to the Anti-Piracy that separates Legit/CycloDS and all other flash card users into 'groups'.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to double post, but it's over the limit of quote blocks if I edit my previous post...

    http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/genmessage....;topic=52321963
     
  10. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    which mean i should patch this thing
     
  11. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure, but I dont think AK2 has this problem with unpatched ROMs. I've gotten rares and such (but maybe because I'm playing on hard mode). Can anyone confirm this? Also, I don't really have a problem connecting to other on wifi. I'm using the Bahamut unpatched I believe. If I have time, I think I might compare the results when using the XPA patched.
     
  12. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's been very mixed on AK2... so I think it has to do with what firmware and version you're using.
    Doesn't AK2 have two (or more) firmware? I know it has AKAIO, but it's that "unofficial" or official but in addition to the 'default' firmware?
    You should test and report back. Just load up an unpatched ROM and go to the Paru field on Normal and write down what drops you get along the way (You don't need to be as specific about the drops as toguro_max, but it would help), then compare them to toguro_max's drops. While there was only one run done of each, those numbers pretty accurately match what I've seen on both my patched and unpatched runs through the game.


    If you want to verify which version of the game you're using, find a CRC checker and match your ROM to the list here:
    CRC32
    A16C7F05 = XPA UnFixed (UnPatched, UnTrimmed)
    E5C6E212 = XPA Fixed/Bahamut (UnPatched, UnTrimmed)
    A0507D59 = XPA Fixed/Bahamut (UnPatched, Trimmed NDSTokyoTrim)
    A970B86F = XPA/Bahamut (Patched & Auto-Trimmed)
     
  13. Shinryuji

    Member Shinryuji GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    The heavens.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I can tell, Acecards and CycloDS are in the same boat. They don't need to be patched and they work fine on WiFi, by all the accounts I have seen.
     
  14. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I am compelled to believe that the drop rate issue may be an anti-piracy protection, but it seems so weird... You know, when I play with the "clear" rom, finding something actually good is so satisfactory! But playing with the patched rom makes it so "meh, just one more".
    Maybe I'm just being too nostalgic about PSO DC, since it had cruelly low drop rates, and the "fun" was finding something good, and PS0 may have somewhat "fixed" it...
    Well, I believe this matter is settled now, as other people have, in a way or another, confirmed the retail game has the drop rate of the patched rom.

    Wierd or not, it's more difficult to survive with the patched rom, since You get far less 'mates and 'fluids >-p
     
  15. .Darky

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    I got a Hero/Swift on one of the first missions. I thought it was just luck but it seems it was the patch. ._.
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    First mission..... on hard?

    Because I've never seen higher than Ace on Normal, not even in the Endless Tower.
     
  17. .Darky

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Normal. I found it in one of the first missions.

    EDIT: But I found it before applying the online fix patch.
     
  18. Raven Darkheart

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    so just a recap...

    if youre using a cyclo/ak2 + clean rom = retail drops
    anything else + unpatched rom = crazy drops
    anything else + patched rom = retail drops.
     
  19. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure AKAIO 1.5 works fine, not sure if there are any other non-AKAIO firmware out there or if older versions of AKAIO will work.
     
  20. Raven Darkheart

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    youre right. i was assuming people had the latest loaders when i mentioned the ak2
     

Share This Page