Phantasy Star 0 online party problem.

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by NecroZerumus, Nov 12, 2009.

Nov 12, 2009
  1. NecroZerumus
    OP

    Newcomer NecroZerumus Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys.

    I've been having a hard time trying to join my friend's party and my friends are having a hard time joining my party. They never see me online and I don't see them online. I tried updating, yet they still don't show up.

    What's the deal? I tried another rom, rebooted my Wifi settings, and everything.
     


  2. SamusKnight2K

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    1.) Both must have each other's friend codes inserted into their rosters. If you don't then you won't see the other.
    2.) Check your internet firewall settings if using a router, ensure PSZ has full access to the internet. Some ports might need to be forwarded. For those details check out nintendo's official website. I don't know the ports needed so don't ask.
    3.) Remember that the NDS can only connect via WEP encryption. Anything higher will fail. The NDSi can connect to WPA I think but I don't have a DSi to verify this.
     
  3. VioletSkye

    Newcomer VioletSkye Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    The DSi can connect to WPA but PS0 won't use that connection unfortunately (at least I can't find a way to do it.) So I had to use a second router as an access point and use WEP, then I was able to get online no problem.
     
  4. shineek

    Member shineek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    Poland
    you forgot about the patch , both bahamut and Xenophobia releases need a special patch to play online , go check it on ds-scene.net
     
  5. VioletSkye

    Newcomer VioletSkye Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't need a special patch to play online. I'm using the original Bahamut release (unpatched.)
     
  6. shineek

    Member shineek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    Poland
    sorry for double post , the connection seems to lag for me
     
  7. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both Bahamut and Xenophobia releases need a special patch to play online.

    Although you don't need the patch to play normal on some carts.

    But able to see eachother online. with other users.
     
  8. VioletSkye

    Newcomer VioletSkye Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think that's accurate. I didn't patch my Bahamut release version and I just got done playing in Free Play mode with others online as well as Play Alone mode.
     
  9. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I'm having no problems at all playing online (no patching has been done) with my Xenophobia release. DSi + AKi + AKAIO 1.5 here.
     
  10. shineek

    Member shineek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    Poland
    i said online , i meant wi-fi not wlan , it was working for me too on wlan , but on wi-fi i didnt see the other players . and i too have acekard wit akaio 1.5 and the newest loaders
     
  11. Rubbie

    Newcomer Rubbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wifi works for finding random players Multicard play doesent work nor friendcodes
     
  12. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Guess I should clarify, I was playing Wi-Fi online, although matchmaking only set me up with one other person. But we played through a run no problem (other than getting stomped by those friggin' yeti looking things repeatedly). I don't know if the other person was using a flashcart too or not, since without friend codes, you can only say a few pre-set things to each other.
     
  13. VioletSkye

    Newcomer VioletSkye Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    @ shineek:
    Ahhh, gotcha. Well then I may need to patch it since my wife and I will be wanting to play together lol. [​IMG]
     
  14. rashef

    Member rashef GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Raimon
    Country:
    Poland
    A patch ? That's strange. I didn't need to patch anything and it worked fine in both free play and friendcode play. What does the patch do?
     
  15. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    That would probably be with me using AKAIO.

    [edit]
    Anyway, I trust the AKAIO team to add the patch to the loader if needed. [​IMG]
     
  16. VioletSkye

    Newcomer VioletSkye Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Ok here is what has worked for me thus far (without any patches.)

    Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection:
    Play with Friend(s) - Haven't added anybody yet to be able to check.
    Free Play - Working
    Play Alone - Working

    DS Wireless Play:
    Form Party - Unable to check until my wife's AK2i arrives
    Join Party - Unable to check until my wife's AK2i arrives

    However, until I can try it out, I'll take shineek and Rubbie's word for it that those other features don't work until it's patched.
     
  17. infinete

    Member infinete The Temp's cynic.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tested Wireless play on a non patched rom (AK 2i 1.5 latest loaders dsi & ds phat)
    DS Wireless Play:
    Form Party - Perfect
    Join Party - Perfect
    we have just finished a mission as a ds local wifi team (next to each other)
    edit: one issue we have noticed, i doubt it is due to the minor lv difference, sometimes (happend twice in the level) I was fighting a monster the other game could not see :S.
     
  18. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    Supposedly, the issue is ROM playing with Original game type of issue.
    like: ROM playing with Original will not work, ROM with ROM would work.
    Patching would make the ROM playing with Original will work.
     
  19. shineek

    Member shineek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    Poland
    dunno , maybe youre right , thay only wrote that the patch is needed to see other players
     
  20. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    You need the Bahamut Patch for the BAHAMUT version of Phantasy Star 0 for Wi-Fi to work. I had this same problem on Wi-Fi, but I downloaded the Bahamut patch and the Wi-Fi problem was fixed. I forgot the Link to the Bahamut Patch [sorry], try finding it, using Google.
     

Share This Page