Hardware PC noob here, need help in picking out parts for my build!

MindC0ntroll

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi :) , Im new to this site so excuse me if I have this topic in the wrong section. I just need help with two things

Im not really knowledgable with PC parts and diagnosing problems so I hope you guys can help me out here. Anyway, I just bought a PC i3 build on eBay for $200 but came with some messed up parts (hard drive was corrupted and no DVD drive). I need to decide on what parts Im going to get for it and calculate the costs as well as diagnosing another problem (which I'll say later)

Here's a list of the specs:

Intel i3 540 (3.0GHZ dual core)

Motherboard: Intel DH57DD media series (can accept Intel i3, i5, and certain models of the i7 quad core) Socket: LGA 1156. I think the form factor is a Micro ATX, Im not really sure

No Graphics card

Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series (rated at 430 watts)

320gb Western Digital Harddrive. (corrupted)

RAM: Corsair XMS 3 DDR3 memory 10GB in total

Rosewill card reader

Western Digital Caviar Blue GB HDD 6 USB 2.0 hubs

HDMI port/DVI port. included

Case is NZXT Lexea S with integrated fan controls. Lights up blue when turned on (holds 16GB of ram total)

Cooler Master heatsink

I intend to use this as a gaming rig (Playing BF3 or Skyrim at a high resolution, 2xAA etc.) and for video editing (Sony Vegas, HD rendering). I just need to know what parts I should replace and what I can keep. For the graphics card, I was thinking of getting an NVIDIA GTX 560ti and for the CPU, an i5 (not sure about the clock rate) but Im not sure which is why Im asking for your advice. Is there anything I should replace? Should I replace the power supply, heat sink or anything else?