1. souler92

    OP souler92 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is there an possibility of getting this game to work on the (n)3ds?
    http://www.oldpcgaming.net/rama-review/
    Its one great point abd click puzzle adventure from back in the days.

    At nost an underrated game because its really good

    I thought it was available in dos too. And i guess 3ds can run dos.

    Maybe someone can convert it?

    Thnx
     
    Last edited by souler92, Jan 25, 2017
  2. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7,006
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know if Windows 95 works well enough in DosBox on 3DS to run this game, you could give it a go.

    I was vaguely waiting for ScummVM to add support for this game so I could play it nicely on my Mac, if that happens it might work on the 3DS version too. No ETA for that at all tho.
     
  3. souler92

    OP souler92 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well i got it so far to get all the stuff on the 3ds. but dosbox doesnt open anything.. when i load it i get an error : RetroArch
    :: cannot push NULL or empty core info into the playlist.
     
    Last edited by souler92, Jan 27, 2017
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You could have a look at the code for Lemmings 3DS - that's a DOS game that got a sort of wrapper to be played on 3DS. If you can work out how that wad done it could be a good model for generally getting DOS games working on 3DS.
     
  5. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7,006
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure that's a rewrite rather than the dos version running on the 3DS, it's described as a clone.
     
  6. souler92

    OP souler92 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well, im a bit further but im reallly clueless now

    i got it setup somewhat good, the game wants to start, but it throws me an following error:
    does not have enough samples for monitor refresh rate estimation requires to run for at least 4096 frames
    then it returns to home menu....
     
  7. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    It uses the DOS game files though.
     
  8. souler92

    OP souler92 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok i got it to work, sort off after some fiddling with bat lines the game starts. but its massive laggy, and after the start menu the game crashes giving an audio error.

    i will stop further because it lags too much
     
  9. Pleng

    Pleng Custom Title
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,391
    Country:
    Thailand
    So do all the various pots of Doom. Doesn't alter the fact that they're running natively.
     
  10. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    I was responding to this :
    I don't think Lemmings was rewritten from scratch. It's using the DOS game files.
     
  11. Pleng

    Pleng Custom Title
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,391
    Country:
    Thailand
    I know what you were responding to... Hence my reply
     
  12. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    I think we are talking about the same thing. The developer of Lemmings wrote a sort of wrapper that the DOS game files run within. By studying the code, it's probably possible to adapt it to other DOS games, or at least get some ideas to write one from scratch.
     
  13. Pleng

    Pleng Custom Title
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,391
    Country:
    Thailand
    No it's not "a sort of wrapper" it's a total recreation of the game engine.
     
  14. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    If it's been rewritten, why are the game files required then? Why isn't it all contained in the 3dsx/cia?
     
  15. sarkwalvein

    sarkwalvein There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8,162
    Country:
    Germany
    Because they contain the graphics and game data that the engine uses?
    PS: Think ScummVM... Actually think any game that runs in an engine, that is all games.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  16. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7,006
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The game files it uses are the data. What's rewritten from scratch is the code. The code is the instructions telling the device what to do, the data is the information it uses to do it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - request,