patch r4igold 3ds with m3Lite

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by mid-kid, Aug 5, 2012.

Aug 5, 2012

patch r4igold 3ds with m3Lite by mid-kid at 6:21 PM (2,146 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mid-kid
    OP

    Member mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello experts on gbatemp,

    first i want to mention what i have:
    • dslite
    • 3ds
    • dsi
    • r4ds
    • r4igold3ds
    • m3lite (SLOT-2)
    • ttids
    (just in case, i put all i have here)

    my problem is:

    i wanted to upgrade my r4igold3ds to use it on my 3ds, but when i started upgrading, i saw it said: deleting data.
    i tuned off my ds cause i didn't want to lose all my games + saved data (silly me, thinking it was deleting my sdcard -_-)
    well, my r4igold3ds is now bricked.

    i wanted to know: is there any way to unbrick it?

    perhaps:
    putting my m3lite in slot-2 and my r4igold3ds in slot-1 and running the upgrade with the m3lite?
    but, will it brick my m3lite?

    any help plz?
     
  2. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First off whats the web address on the front of the card?

    The update only deletes the bootloader and updates it with a new one.

    Did you not read the instructions it says don't turn the DS off!

    You can unbrick a cart put only with a cart from the same team
     
  3. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    is there a .nds updater that you can switch cards with?
     
  4. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not between different carts.
     
  5. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    Im not ther person with the problem.
    anyways i'll reword what i said.
    if you updater is an updater that says something like press a to update then you can run it off you m3 lite remove it insert your r4i gold then press a and it works.
    i'm not sure what the updater does so you can try that if its a press a to update updateer.
     
  6. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Using the M3 in slot 2 really isn't necessary. In my tutorial we will use one of your working slot 1 cards.

    How to unbrick your flashcard using another flashcard

    1) You need a working slot 1 card.

    2) The working slot 1 card should have its original kernel, and you need to add the r4i gold 3DS update to the root of the working flashcard's micro sd card.

    3) Boot up the "good" slot 1 card with the micro sd card inside (obviously)

    4) Select the update for the "bad" card (this means go to the update file, press "A"). The update file will prompt a menu where it cautions you about the dangers of updating and all the rules involved. BEFORE you press A to start the update, switch in the "bad card" without a micro sd card inside of it.

    5) Press "A" and the updater will begin to re-flash the "bad" card.

    Should work if you did this correctly. :)
    You need an original DS or DS Lite to do this procedure.
     
    Bradypodion and mid-kid like this.
  7. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mid-kid was talking about m3lite (SLOT-2) updating a r4igold3ds (SLOT-1) and its not possible

    Follow jimmyemunoz's advice and you may fix you cart.

    In future never turn the DS off during an update and maybe backup you microSD if your unsure.
     
  8. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    Just follow jimmys instructions. im stupid.
     
  9. mid-kid
    OP

    Member mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    Spain
    ok, tnx. i will try jimmys guide next week. but, can any1 tell me why it is not possible with the m3lite? (just curious). does the update program search for the current flash card instead of searching for the SLOT-1 card? BTW, the website is: http://www.r4igold.cc P.S. yes, i was stupid. but i prefer losing my flash card instead of losing all my save files

    Reason for edit: confusing SLOT-1/2 -_-
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    It might be possible to update with a m3lite...since it CAN run ds mode homebrew (it can run old homebrew anyways)...but dunno. You could always give it a try and then tell us what happens. Of course, follow the same steps as the guide up there if the homebrew loads (if the end result still fails, maybe try using homebrew menu and then load the firmware update.nds) and maybe just remove your slot2 and put your slot1 in before you press A.
     
  11. mid-kid
    OP

    Member mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks for this useful help! will try next week and report here!
     
  12. mid-kid
    OP

    Member mid-kid GBAtemp spamBOT

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    Spain
    reporting the results:

    i tried patching the way jimmy did and using the m3lite.

    the same problem: when i press a it sticks on the screen: deleting files
    no matter how long i wait, it just doesn't patch it.

    do i have to use the same r4igold3ds from r4igold.cc to unbrick it?

    plz help...
     
  13. Bradypodion

    Newcomer Bradypodion Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Marrakesh, Morocco
    Country:
    Morocco


    IT ACTUALLY WORKED!! THANKS A MILLION, MAN!
     
  14. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    You are welcome :yaysp:
     

Share This Page