panasonic formatter

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by jerbz, Jan 29, 2010.

Jan 29, 2010

panasonic formatter by jerbz at 9:53 PM (2,143 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. jerbz
    OP

    Member jerbz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    408 CALIFORNIA
    Country:
    United States
    i just downloaded the panasonic formatter
    and after formatting my sd card now all the stuff that once fit on my ds card doesnt fit.

    anyone know why this might have happened?
     
  2. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    Windows formats are a tiny bit smaller I've noticed. (ie, a tiny bit more usable space)
    Dunno why, I assume the panasonic one puts some format related data for the flash memory too rather than windows doing it blindly regarding it as a hard drive.
     
  3. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely a format change between FAT 32 and FAT 16. You can read about it here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc940351.aspx
    Also, if you can't fit everything then it means your card must have been nearly full. Don't do this, as it will cause fragmentation errors, and maybe even lag or freezing. Always leave around 5% of your microSD empty.
     
  4. jerbz
    OP

    Member jerbz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    408 CALIFORNIA
    Country:
    United States
    thanks alot. i went over my stats and realized thats what happened. the beauty though is that my r4 running ysmenu plus moonshell to load roms is moving beautifully. its soo much faster
     

Share This Page