PAL WADS in 60Hz possible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Shou, Nov 22, 2009.

Nov 22, 2009

PAL WADS in 60Hz possible? by Shou at 8:38 PM (1,914 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Shou
    OP

    Newcomer Shou Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I live in the UK so I have a PAL Wii, I've been an emulation jockey for years so I've been able to experience all past games in 60Hz but was shocked to find that VC games on Wii only ran in PAL 50Hz.

    I heard there was a program called "freethewads" so I checked that out, I used to it make NTSC WAD's region free thinking the Wii would have no choice but to run them in NTSC since my TV is compatible but no, the WAD will either fail to run or only run in PAL 50Hz...

    I've searched all over the net and all I can find are topics from over a year ago so either the situation is still unresolved or my hours of searching was not good enough.
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just get the NTSC versions or the wads instead of PAL and freethewads them
     
  3. Shou
    OP

    Newcomer Shou Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I said that I already tried that in my second paragraph...
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    maybe the ntsc versions you got were pal converted to ntsc
     
  5. Shou
    OP

    Newcomer Shou Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you made an NTSC WAD region free and have it play back 60Hz on a PAL Wii then?

    I've got a few different versions of the WAD's I've been using all claiming to be NTSC originally, the systems I been trying on are N64 and Sega Master System WAD's. I did try Super Metroid on the SNES but no matter what I set it too it wouldn't load.
     
  6. Shou
    OP

    Newcomer Shou Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay I've tried even more WAD's now claiming to be NTSC originally yet they still play in PAL when set to region free. Is there something else I can get that will force WAD's to play in NTSC?
     
  7. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Triforce can force the nstc wads to play in ntsc.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=172166

    Don't know if it can force them to pal 60, (long while since I used it), but can definitely make them play in ntsc, instead of pal 50.
     
  8. bootmonster

    Member bootmonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Shou
    OP

    Newcomer Shou Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers, this thing works a treat letting me play in NTSC.

    The only thing I'm worried about as that it said it's not a good idea to use it atm if you didn't install Bootmii on Boot2. I installed Bootmii on IOS as that was the only option available to me but several guides I read say installing on the IOS is safer?
     
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The warning is only for if you're using the nand emulator, as nothing else was using one at the time, so it was untested ground. If you're just using it for launching stuff that is installed normally, then don't worry about it. Also that warning is quite old, as you can see from the thread, plenty of people using it without probs.
     

Share This Page