Overclocking Eee 1201 CPU

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by nonnonnon, Jul 28, 2010.

Jul 28, 2010

Overclocking Eee 1201 CPU by nonnonnon at 10:11 AM (809 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    I was just wondering what memory is best to run with an Atom Dual Core processor OC to 2GHZ? I have one 2GB DDR2 SDRAM - 800 MHz and one 2GB Kingstone 633 MHZ (i think).
     
  2. Jockel

    Member Jockel Tagging yourself? This shit ain't NeoGAF.

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    The slower one, obviously.
     
  3. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    So i should use the Kingston memory then?
    Thanks (:
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The fastest that runs stable. Aka, try it and if the faster one is stable (at faster speeds) that one. Do mind voltages btw, they are probably auto set and thus might be set far too high.
     
  5. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Jockel was ironic then? So i should go with the 800mhz ram and try to set the voltage higher. Any idea how to do that on an Eee 1201n?

    Edit: just found out that on the 1201n pc it is best to OC with a 667 MHz ram without adjusting voltage. Thank you for your help anyway
     
  6. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Humor me, why is OC-ing with the 667MHz ram better then the 800 (not increasing voltage is always a good idea assuming the device runs at the desired speed at stock voltage, however again please never trust the auto feature)?

    Possibly by the lower increase in MHz when increasing the fsb however if the 667 doesn't go beyond say 675 where the 800 goes to 875 you're still better off with the 800. Also if you can set the 800 to run 667 you're never wrong with the speed settings of the ram as it will pretty much never go beyond the original 800 during the testing of your proc. But an EEE is ofcourse rather hard to do such settings on.
     
  7. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    People have tested it out, and it seems that 667 MHZ ram is the most stable when you OC the CPU
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never gone into the extremeties of OCing, but I do notice that OCing a CPU on various motherboards tends to try and slow down any high speed RAM I use. E.g. OCing a E8400 Core 2 Duo by around 600Mhz will bring 2000Mhz RAM down to 1800Mhz. Further OCing brings it down further, but it becomes a bit unstable.

    Someone once explained to me why it happens, but I've long since forgotten.
     

Share This Page