1. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Hello I am wondering if I copy my files from a 3ds SD to another SD card am I able to simply replace the OTP from the first 3ds with one originally from the second and have it work on the second 3ds.
     
  2. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    No, do not use a different 3ds's otp with another, it will brick. its console-specific unique after all
     
  3. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Sorry I didn't word it very well. I want to use all the files apart from the otp on another console. So I am wondering if I copy every file apart from the otp to another will that second console load all the games from the first console.
     
  4. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Yes, you can. Just be careful with the OTP switch
     
  5. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    United States
    No, it doesn't work like that.
     
  6. SonicCloud

    SonicCloud a crybaby <3.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    862
    Country:
    Mexico
    Im pretty sure it will , just dont copy the OTP

    Can someone confirm if this is possible?
     
  7. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Dude.... if it was like that you would have to compile everything yourself
     
    proflayton123 likes this.
  8. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    United States
    His question was:
    And the answer is no, it won't. Homebrew would work fine, assuming you have a way to launch it. ARM9 payloads would work fine, assuming you have a way to launch them. Games installed on a different console magically working? No, that won't work. It does not work like that.
     
    satan89 likes this.
  9. naddel81

    naddel81 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Country:
    United States
    movable.sed?
     
  10. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Sorry didnt read that. The files will work just to install CFW, the games wont transfer
     
  11. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't just using a movable.sed from another console break things? I mean, you could do a NAND backup, system transfer, NAND restore so that both consoles are pointing to the same <id0>/<id1> folders. Even then, you'd have to install tickets for all the .cias you have installed to get them to show up.

    Either way, I don't think trying this is at all a good idea.
     
    Last edited by squall14716, Feb 10, 2017
  12. WiiKiing

    OP WiiKiing Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Ok thanks for all your help sounds like I had best leave well enough alone and just go about it the slow way and install things separately
     
  13. nechigawara

    nechigawara Citizen of Gamindustri
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    Thailand
    Because both consoles will end up having the same identity, can't see each other online, and can only be fixed by formatting one of them.
     
    Last edited by nechigawara, Feb 11, 2017
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - swapping,