Original XBox HDD Question

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by BananaXX, Mar 12, 2009.

Mar 12, 2009

Original XBox HDD Question by BananaXX at 12:08 AM (1,127 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. BananaXX
    OP

    Newcomer BananaXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    I have successfully softmodded my XBox, and I am trying to upgrade the hard drive. I've been unsuccessful with that however, and I keep getting Error 06 after using xboxhdm and my XBox's eeprom.bin to try to lock it.

    This has been pretty frustrating, so I'm looking at getting a modchip (no solder, probably) so that I could use the new hard drive. My question though, is if I install a modchip, will I be able to use this new hard drive, even though it hasn't worked with the softmod? Or will I still have to get a new hard drive to try?

    From what I understand, using a modchip will basically allow you to use almost any IDE drive and format it in your XBox with an EvoX disc.

    Also, if anyone has any suggestions as to how I might make the hard drive work with the softmod, that would be great too! Thanks all.
     
  2. IOS37

    Newcomer IOS37 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    TSOP it.
    TSOP or Mod chip will allow you to use your harddrive.
    I never messed with softmods because TSOP was so easy.
     
  3. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    TSOP requires soldering, which I think he is trying to avoid.

    In any case, there are a few solderless modchips, but pretty much the only thing you're going to find around these days is an xecuter 2/3 + solderless adapter.

    Just FYI though, you should not be getting an error 6. Ndure softmods use a virtual EEPROM, so if you dump your eeprom normally whilst using the softmod, you're going to get an invalid result. For Krayzie's ndure, you have to install the additional tools inside the softmod archive or find the original eeprom it made when first installing. With kingroach's ndure, you launch the xbe in the ndts folder on E:, which will give complete access to your system (no virtual C, virtual EEPROM, etc.).

    Check out this thread, it should explain everything: http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=665599
     
  4. IOS37

    Newcomer IOS37 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    TSOP is hardly soldering I had my 10 year TSOP a Xbox because it is so easy.
    Just tin a wire tip place it on and touch the iron to it then cut the extra wire off.
    done.
     
  5. BananaXX
    OP

    Newcomer BananaXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Thanks for the replies.

    I went ahead and tried a TSOP flash, worked fine, but then tried to do a different flash and ended up nuking the box. There might be a way to fix it but I don't really have the time to do that right now.

    So I went out and picked up another used XBox (they're incredibly cheap) and using the link that velocity37 posted I was able to get the hard drive upgrade to work. Thanks!
     

Share This Page