Opera browser rom hack

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by twijtje, Feb 11, 2009.

Feb 11, 2009

Opera browser rom hack by twijtje at 6:59 PM (4,534 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. twijtje
    OP

    Newcomer twijtje Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello!
    Does anyone know if there is a rom hack for the Opera DS Browser?
    I wanna use it without any expansion pack!
    Please help me! [​IMG]
     


  2. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
  3. quikshadow

    Newcomer quikshadow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Somewhere in the World.
    Country:
    United States
    Actually from i read(by skimming) it works, but you need an EZ flash (i dont know why though). Anyone want to elaborate mroe?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The Opera Browser comes with a Slot-2 pack with RAM.
    There is a patch for the Opera Browser to make it use ?any? RAM pack as the original, but I think the EZ-Flash 3-in-1 easiest one to use.
     
  5. xxRAG3

    Member xxRAG3 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    are you asking if opera browser can be used without a slot 2 ram thingy? K. Here I go.
    NO. NONONONO NOOOOOOOO NO.
























    NO.
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    r u shur?
     
  7. koffieleut

    Member koffieleut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    probably at home
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I used the internet browser with Supercard SD in slot 2, it works fine. its a cheaper solution
     
  8. twijtje
    OP

    Newcomer twijtje Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I thought that it can use the space on the microSD card [​IMG]
    Sorry for bad english [​IMG]
     
  9. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    As everyone else has said, nope. No hacks to be able to run Rom-only (with no extended ram). You need a slot-2 ram extension to use OprahOpera-DS [​IMG]
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Nope, it'd be too slow (slow as in UNUSABLE) and it would also require massive hacking to make it work that way.

    Not worth the effort and nobody is going to do it. Just get a Slot-2 SuperCard (not the Rumble ones) or a EZ 3-in-1 or an EWIN Expansion Pack.
     
  11. Mist3rJ3r3my

    Newcomer Mist3rJ3r3my Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    You must have some sort of slot-2 card to use the Opera Browser (ez-flash, supercard)

    DSOrganize and Bunjalloo are the only solutions I've heard that run only as a slot-1 and do not need slot-2
     
  12. twijtje
    OP

    Newcomer twijtje Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks
    I'll use bunjalloo right now
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Erizo

    Newcomer Erizo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Mexico
    Can i just buy the expansion pack and use the rom? xD Any expansion pack anyone would recommend? Are there any other advantages of it?

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
     
  15. Erizo

    Newcomer Erizo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Mexico
    I had actually read the whole thread. If you'd read my reply, you'd think that it's somewhat more focused into the expansion rather than hacking the rom, and that it has different questions, such as the one of the advantages of the expansion.

    But thanks [​IMG]
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Here you ask for suggestions of expansion packs, to which I answered by quoting from the thread which had suggestions.
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    In answer to your question, if you're using a clean rom of the browser I don't see why the official RAM pack wouldn't work.
     
  18. Erizo

    Newcomer Erizo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Mexico
    Decided to go with the ezflash 3-in-1, hopefully the browser, the rumble and the ability to play GBA games make up for the price xDDD
     
  19. xxRAG3

    Member xxRAG3 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    NONONON---YES I MEAN YES.
     
  20. linkmaster03

    Newcomer linkmaster03 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    How do you use it with a SuperCard SD? Last time I checked I didn't think you could use its RAM.
     

Share This Page