Opera Browser on SCDS2?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by rockstar99, Feb 26, 2011.

Feb 26, 2011

Opera Browser on SCDS2? by rockstar99 at 4:02 PM (1,231 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. rockstar99
    OP

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Would It be possible to emulate the RAM pack using the DSTWO CPU to use The Opera Browser on the SCDS2?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not the opera browser (as the DSTwo is a different architecture than the DS), but a special browser is possible...

    While the latency between the cart and the DS is a problem for many things, you could have 250ms latency when browsing around and it wouldn't be much of an issue at all (hell, firefox can get loaded down to where it takes 500mx to respond sometimes on average PCs).

    While there's bandwidth issues, when browsing around you don't need to page to render or scroll at a solid 24fps. Could go down to 10 or so and people might not complain.

    Of course it's not going to be doing youtube...
     
  3. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,799
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    There's only one problem if it were possible. Writing to the card is not only slow, but the SCDS2 seems to only take in input in the form of the buttons and the touch screen, which combined takes very little data per second.
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    How would a CPU emulate RAM?
     
  5. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    It's a SoC, not a cpu or ram.

    It has "ram" on it with the "cpu".
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ~32MB IIRC.
     
  7. Laughing Stock

    Member Laughing Stock GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't WiFi mode on the DSTwo just kill the battery within a matter of minutes?
     
  8. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,598
    Country:
    United States
    It isn't that bad. [​IMG]
     
  9. rockstar99
    OP

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok thanks, I hope somebody tries making a browser, just good enough to check my mail and use some good mobile msg sites
     
  10. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,799
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Still the problem of sending data from the DS to the SCDS2, which right now is limited to button and touch-screen input, which can be contained in a 4-byte structure. We know much more data can be sent at a time as demonstrated by DS game save data transmissions, so unless there is a need for more data transmitted for SCDS2 apps, the chance of them increasing it is slim.
     
  11. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    the SDK doesn't allow WiFi.
     
  12. slayerdx

    Member slayerdx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
  13. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It does not use the DSTWO´s additional RAM or whatever it is now.
     
  14. Laughing Stock

    Member Laughing Stock GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    The guy works on droid stuff now and he said that it's very unlikely for him to go back to the DS.

    Plus he doesn't have a DSTwo or even a slot-2 card.
     

Share This Page