Opening threads in new tab

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Blake1710, Feb 20, 2011.

Feb 20, 2011

Opening threads in new tab by Blake1710 at 11:57 AM (1,507 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Blake1710
    OP

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    hello

    i have noticed that using middle click to open threads in new tabs does not work. right-click>open in new tab still works as it should.

    all other links around gbatemp work, it is just links to threads from the board index. it works if you click on them from the forum homepage, but not if you actually go into the board.

    i am using google chrome version 9.0.597.98 on windows 7 home premium 64-bit
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Does it work in another browser?
     
  3. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use the right mouse button and click on: open in New Tab.

    Less practical but it works
     
  4. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    lol i middle clicked this thread and it's working fine, try firefox [​IMG]
     
  5. Blake1710
    OP

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    works in firefox

    but that isn't really the point of the topic. i'm reporting the bug happening in chrome, not firefox

    i'll try deleting the cache etc.

    EDIT: did so, problem still occurs
     
  6. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also have this issue, have for quite a while. I reported it ages ago and everyone just said it didn't happen to them and nobody seemed to card. I have noticed that middle clicking links from the "View New Posts" page works.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Seems it has something to do with it being a span instead of a normal anchor?
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah, middle clicking doesn't seem to work here either.
    Ctrl+Click seems to work though.

    I've never heard of problems with anchors in span tags, though it does seem to be the problem.
     
  9. Goli

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
    It works fine in Opera [​IMG].
     
  10. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,331
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine in IE8.
     
  11. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Does not work in subforums

    Google Chrome 9.0.597.98
     
  12. Darksage098

    Member Darksage098 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Exact same thing for me. Version Number and Place.
     
  13. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Works on my Chrome, this is devs' version though.
     
  14. B-Blue

    Member B-Blue im a slut

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,444
    Country:
  15. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hm, so it doesn't.

    I don't remember if I saw that happen before or not.
     
  16. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Doesn't work for me either, but I always click the 'go to first unread post' arrow, and it works with that.
     
  17. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know how long this has been happening for (it's been a while), but it's certainly irritating. I'm using regular Chrome with the same issue. C'est la vie, Costello always fixes these things eventually. [​IMG]
     
  18. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    same here, been annoying when i click and then nothing happens [​IMG]

    i hate having to hold ctrl just to open in a new tab (and i'm not gonna right click, that's one click that doesn't need to happen)
     
  19. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Works fine here in Firefox 3.6.13.
     
  20. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the Ctrl+Click tip people, that should help in the mean time. FYI, I'm on the latest Dev release (11.0.672.2 (Official Build 75134) dev).
     

Share This Page