OOThax issues

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Sav3dsNob16, Dec 21, 2016.

1. Sav3dsNob16
    OP

Sav3dsNob16 Newbie

Newcomer
    Dec 21, 2016
    United States
    This is my first attempt at this on my old 3ds and dont' have access to a hacked 3ds until next week. I have read so many guides (got a headache) and filtered so much info that I am reaching out for some help.
    Ok my old 3ds is on 10.7.0-4U, what really confuses me is why am I on 4U when everywhere I read the 10.7.0 version is like on -31U? I know that that I have the -4U means I have a browser, and no browserhax does not work, says I have a unsupported browser when I hit the yls8 page. Browser version is 1.7630 BTW!!!
    I followed the guides for the OOThax, I put the 3ds folder and boot.3dsx. Here is where I get stuck, I hit the smealum homebrew page, I try to pick my version to identify the pwersaves file I need but I can't pick my 10.7.0-4U form the list the lowest it goes is 10.7.0-7U?? I did perform a test, I went through all the 10.7.0-xU options and they all download the same POST5_U25600_usa_9221.bin robpin file. I find the corresponding file in the second cartridge id folder in the yellow8's repository, do the powersaves thing and I am able to laucnh OOT, hit the A button and I get to the point where it crashed and I get "The homemenu ropbin is ready" message on the top screen but just jibberish on the bottom, no color changes and then it exits with the "An error has occured" message, I power off try again and again NADA.
    What am I doing wrong? I have tried by putting the ropbin file I downloaded off the homebrew site in the root of my SD without renaming it, also reanmed it payload.bin and also tried with it not being on the SD card, just the homebrew starter kit. Still nothing.
    Is my whacked 10.7.0-4U version messing things up? I don't want to upgrade the firmware and then have no options.