Hacking OLD3DS totally f****?

konsolenumbau.expert

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Rieps
Website
konsolenumbau.expert
XP
336
Country
Germany
Hey up lads.

As many of yu know me even i got a question sometimes ;-)

So a customer send me hier Old 3DS wich is declared as bricked.

How did the Brick happen?

Well all he can tell is he had an old version of A9 installed and then tryed to wright the
EMUNAND on the SysNAND. Since then nothing anymore.

He sended it to me with "sysNAND_orig" and EmuNAND_orig.

When i wright them back i can see the Displays getting backlight but the Device isn´t
booting up. All Lights (Blue, Yellow and 3D are indicating)

I also tried to deattach the WIFI Module as i had a device where that caused a Problem like this.

But nothing.

Checked every Flex incl. Connector everything just fine.

So. I guess either all the three Backups arent valid or something else goes wrong.

Is there a way by now to check images anyhow on the PC or anything.

Ahh. Recovery doesnt work as well so that thing is clearly totally f***...?!

Thanks for your help guys looking forwars for your answers.

Greetz Seb
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,140
Trophies
0
XP
12,111
if he nand backups were from another system it would blue screen of death, so the backups are probably from that system, you can check in a hex editor and compare the initial NCSD header to confirm, but I'm pretty certain you just get a blue screen if neither FIRM partition passes signature checks (which it wouldn't if the nand backup is from a different system)

if you have another wifi module at hand try swapping that out, also try reseating all the cables and checking for any shorts that may have happened while doing the hardmod

I too am sitting on a screwed console which the owner decided to not make a nand backup and updated a n3ds on o3ds FW
sm7_facepalm.gif
#prayforsighax :P
 
Last edited by gamesquest1,

konsolenumbau.expert

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Rieps
Website
konsolenumbau.expert
XP
336
Country
Germany
damn @gamesquest1 :shit:

Yeah well thats the Job we choose isn´t it. Cables were all checked and found good.

That WIFI Switch is defin a thing i can try. :yay:

I allready opened too of the dumps in HEX and they look as far as i can say quiet normal. NCSD etc. everything there.

Have a look for shorts.. i will do this again as well.

But.. Is it somehow possible to really kill that thing so it´s doing nothing anymore like this one.

I mean, i had lots and lots of Devices here as you know and got all of them working via Hardmod.
But of cause it might be that i can simply just f*** the NAND that way it´s totally dead.
He told me during the Process of updating the System simply turned of and that was is. But of cause he did the
Backups BEFORE the Update so no point in they should not work. Of cause i checked size and was good as well.

Strange strange...

Thanks Mate i´ll have another go on that Thing :grog:

Greetz Seb

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is the arm9loaderhax.bin file on the root of the 3ds' SD card?

Yes Mate i thought about that as well.

Honestly with the Origin_SYSNAND it should boot without as long as it is valid.

But i tried with the arm9.bin from the old one of my son.

Didn´t work.

But ill have a go with that again as well.

Thanks
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,140
Trophies
0
XP
12,111
if you have one to hand you could try doing a force reset on the NAND using the old gateway unbricking tools on a raspberry pi or Arduino, I know at first with the unbricking tools the nand could get stuck in a mode that didn't allow the system to boot but didn't blue screen, idk if a system could find itself in this mode naturally, but if you have a raspberry pi A/B at hand it might be worth a shot if you have exhausted all other options
 

konsolenumbau.expert

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Rieps
Website
konsolenumbau.expert
XP
336
Country
Germany
Thanks Dude.

Ah i get what you are saying..

Well in the end it´s the customers choice anyway.

As longer as i sit here.... You know ;-)

I´ll have a look at all the mentioned Options and let yall know whats going on.

Thanks Dudes.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Still morning to me.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    I'm sorry lord kenethk.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Forgive me.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    You have been forgiven
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Thank you.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    School sure is fun. I have to fill out a chart with median income for certain fields of study.
  • Swagboi308 tempBOT:
    Swagboi308 has joined the room.
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    so im in multiman game section and refreshed and cant see the games off the usb help?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    nvm i had to change the usb folders name to "GAMES"
  • torpedo_XL tempBOT:
    torpedo_XL has left the room.
  • dragonmaster @ dragonmaster:
    16 years over the gbatemp i am starting to feel ancient one :P
    +1
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    You've been here since before I was born.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    16 years and only 500 posts
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Might've been an eof shitposter.
  • hallo23 @ hallo23:
    R A T I O
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    how do i show my games on the xmb? do i need webman mod?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    how to display games from multiman
    on the xmb?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    These are thing you should probably
    asking in the PS3 section on the forums
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    yea youre right sorry
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    We don't get new emotes with the updates forum?
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Where is my food emotes. :blink:
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Eat more veggies 🍆
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Eat more veggies 🍆