NTFS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by skullassfreak, Aug 12, 2010.

Aug 12, 2010

NTFS? by skullassfreak at 6:00 AM (1,182 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

1. skullassfreak
    OP

Newcomer skullassfreak Member

United States
    Hey everyone,
    I have been using my wbfs formatted hhd for a few months and i just bought a new 1 tb hhd. I was exploring new software for wbfs formatting when i came to the conclusion that wbfs is the worst out of the formats to use (fat and ntfs being better) but i hate the 4 gb restriction of fat32 (especially because wii games are 4.4 gbs) but i could find anything about used ntfs. Does anyone know if ntfs has bad compatibility with usbloaders?

2. OncleJulien

Member OncleJulien tool of peers

United States
    most of the backup manager software apps out there can split the files into fat32-friendly chunks behind the scenes, you neednt concern yourself with that restriction.

3. Riley

Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

Canada
    Go for FAT32. Lots of homebrew apps arent compatible with NTFS. Plus you cant rip games to NTFS either AFAIK.

4. LocoRoco

Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

Australia
    the only time the game needs to be split in two is metroid prime and SSBB the dual layer games....all of the other once converted to .wbfs are as same as putting them on a wbfs drive

5. VashTS

Member VashTS Beat it, son

United States
    there is more than that locoroco, they are quite a few games that are just over the 4gb mark. usually they max around 4.13. but it is not a big deal, really, wii backup manager splits them and they play identically to the full size image. they is NO difference in fat32 and ntfs loading, only that ntfs is supported by less programs and you cannot write to ntfs from the wii (correctly, i know GX can do it but you risk your drive). that is it. fat32 wins

6. trumpet-205

Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

United States