1. Metothic

    OP Metothic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I'm using Kosmos, all files are up to date, gathered from sdsetup. Some NSP worked fine, even played for a while, but then after I restarted the Switch, they got corrupted on start or after loading. When trying to reinstall with Goldleaf, they stop around 10%. Other NSP got stuck too, but weren't corrupted before (had to reinstall due to deleting content on Nintendo folder). Certain NSP work perfectly fine, and reinstall fine. I tried formatting my SD and it doesn't help. If you need some other info please ask, any help is appreciated.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  2. XorTroll

    XorTroll Tired of classic HOME menu
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    Spain
    exFAT?
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  3. hiroakihsu

    hiroakihsu SUPREME LURKER OF THE WORLD
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    518
    Country:
    United States
    Try testing your sd card with h2testw to see if it's legit/fake.
    Also, is your sd card formatted as exfat? exfat is prone to corruption...Use fat32 instead.
     
  4. Metothic

    OP Metothic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It's FAT32. I'll try testing later, sadly I dong have enough time now since it'd take too long. I don't believe it's fake since I was able to run some NSP, but I don't really know much about it. I also had problems trying to get emuMMC on SD partition, ended up using sysNAND instead, not sure if that could've been a SD problem.
     
  5. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,114
    Country:
    Austria
    Sounds like a sd problem.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  6. Metothic

    OP Metothic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Soooo... I tried installing the same NSP on another PC, let's call it PC2, with a different USB cable (USB2) and it worked, whereas in my PC (PC1) with USB1, the installation always stopped somewhere. But I have already installed one NSP on PC2 with got USB2, which got corrupted after I restarted my Switch.

    I believe PC1 or USB1 may have a problem, but the corruption of the NSP installed with PC2/USB2 may have been a SD problem.

    I'll test the SD card tomorrow and I'll update, just wanted to give some info I found relevant.
     
  7. Metothic

    OP Metothic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I checked the card, didn't complete it because it was taking too long, but some part of it said corrupted while other part said "DATA LOST", the minority was "OK".

    NSP still run fine even after restarting the Switch, so maybe it shouldn't have problems until it reaches the corrupted parts of the card, right? Anyways, I'll try to contact the seller to change the SD card.
     
  8. xaimaster

    xaimaster Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I have this problem after updating to 8.1.0 on exfat. Fixing this problem by reformat my card to fat32
     
  9. NoNAND

    NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,115
    Country:
    Albania
    To me it seems like either the SD card is at fault or something is going haywire on your PCs part.
    Try doing SD installs or alternatively get the tinfoil shop mod.
     
    MicmasH_W likes this.
  10. RyoX9

    RyoX9 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just boot with fusee instead of hekate, worked for me.
     
  11. Metothic

    OP Metothic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hey, late response, I hope this can still get an answer. Turns out the SD was a fake, I sent it back and got refunded. I've been using a 16gb SD meanwhile and everything works perfectly, however, I'll be getting a new 128gb card soon, so I can use the emuNAND.

    The thing I'm worried about is that I made the backup using the fake SD, so I'm not sure if the backup is safe or not. What should I do? What's the worst that could happen?

    If the backup is indeed corrupted and I restore it, will I risk my Switch getting bricked? Will a backup in my Switch's current state help me restore it in case it gets bricked by the corrupted backup?
     
    wicksand420 likes this.
  12. benthrottle

    benthrottle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Short Story: SD Card got corrupt, restored everything to Latest Atmosphere + 10.0.0.
    I'm trying to no success now installing Esprade, a game that I legit own. Already downloaded sig/ex patches to no avail. Ripped my own game cart (it was factory sealed!), and nothing. Can't install the thing through goldleaf, neither lithium. XCI installs but it's corrupt after installation. NSP doesn't allow installing.
    I gave up after ripping the seal of the game (was planning keeping it for collection). Imagine my frustration when I realized it wouldn't work. I can install other games with no problem.
    If someone out there could give me a light of wisdom, I appreciate.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - corruption, install, problem