Notice something strange each gameboy emulator

Discussion in 'Other Handhelds' started by bradzx, May 4, 2012.

May 4, 2012
  1. bradzx
    OP

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    I tested each gameboy emulator (Include advance version.) for pokemon yellow as Pikachu sound effect. There is emit static sound when u press button in title theme in pikachu's voice. Also emit static sound when Pikachu don't like inside pokeball and battle too. Why most gameboy emulator didn't have pikachu's voice? I do have real gameboy color and I play that game and it have Pikachu's voice in title theme, dislike pokeball, and in battle too. Anyone have any idea why mostly emulator don't work for pikachu's voice?
     
  2. finkmac

    Member finkmac GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Over there
    Country:
    Canada
    They don't emulate the sound... I'm not sure why.

    I used to think it was a special sound chip, but I'm not sure anymore...
     
  3. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Just to name a few, VBA-M SVN and BGB emulate it correctly (you can hear PIKACHU!) even if a bit static-y.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Eh...I think Lameboy makes the sound, too.
     
  5. thaddius

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    Just tested Lameboy. It makes a long hiss noise. Nothing resembling "Pikachu". I tested the one when you start the game though, not the in game noises he makes.
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    BGB also supports GBC BIOS, so it's a nice bonus.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I know, I have it for that exact purpose! :P

    If only VBA-M would support it...

    Not that I like VBA-M anymore, it's just a clunky amass of coding with no elegance whatsoever, but it's so filled with functions that it's difficult to drop it.
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,730
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It's static-y on the original hardware aswell, the Gameboy's sound circuitry wasn't perfect. :P
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Thought as much. I seriously need to buy an original Gameboy :P
     
  10. elgarta

    Member elgarta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like trying this on goomba to see if it works. Weird that of all things, the DS can't emulate the sound properly : /
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Surprisingly that's actually more likely to have a better effect than Lameboy. Goomba / Goomba Color used the GBC sound hardware for their audio "emulation" (it wasn't really emulated). This GBC sound hardware is inaccessible in DS mode, so the audio had to be fully software-emulated in Lameboy and GNUboyDS and the very-alpha version of Goomba Color DS that mangled the sound somewhat severely.

    EDIT: if you're wondering what I mean with the "Goomba Color DS" thing, see this video and check the PocketHeaven forums for the download.
     
  12. bradzx
    OP

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    *hit my forehead* do'h! I totally forgot about bgb emulator cuz it my first time emulator. I wonder bgb have great update since 2007. I didnt use that emulator since that time.
     
  13. bradzx
    OP

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    By the way, I notice Lameboy DS didnt support sgb. gb and gbc does support. Any idea I can find emulator for ds support sbg? I meant I notice GBC A.D. dont support sgb. Only GB and GBC. Any kind emulator on my phone support sgb?
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Well that depends on what type of phone you have, as you didn't specify. Chances are though, any phone GB/GBC emulator will be a port of VisualBoyAdvance. Depending on the version and the platform it was ported to, it's anyone's guess if your particular version supports various things. Most likely those ports of VBA won't have support for Super Game Boy borders or colors, or sound for that matter.

    *blinks for a second and suddenly remembers where he heard the name "GBC A.D." before)

    Okay, so you're on a jailbroken iPhone with Cydia. The problem is: even gpSP (gpsPhone on the iPhone (and tons of other consoles for that matter)) couldn't recreate the SGB the same way that Goomba Color could.
     
  15. bradzx
    OP

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    I don't use Iphone anymore because it is not support service at the mountain. I have android phone. I look up in Play Store. There are two of them, but have to pay. VGB and VGBA.
     

Share This Page