Nooo! megavideo doesn't work through the PS3 web browser anymo

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Bryon15, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Dammit I hate Sony for refusing to update the PlayStation 3's web browser. Now how am I supposed to watch my anime? Before clicking on cinema mode would work. But now that's stopped too. I just get a message on screen that says:

    You need a newer flash player version to use megavideo. Please click here and update your flash player to the latest version.

    Trying to watch it through other sites doesn't work either. I tried that with justdubs. All that shows up is a white screen where the video is supposed to be. There is no red play button. I'm disappointed.
     
  2. Shufflemac

    Newcomer Shufflemac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Buy the anime.
    2. Play on TV through PS3
    3. ???
    4. Debt
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried downloading the video files elsewhere and playing them through the media player rather than streaming them through the browser?
     
  4. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that would probably work. But doing that means I'd have to buy an external hard drive, connect it to my PC, download the video file using internet download manager, wait 20 minutes for it to download, and then connect the hard drive to my ps3 to watch it. Seems like a lot of extra work.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can run Cocaoweb on your PC and access it using the PS3 provided the two are connected in a Local Area Network. That way you'll override the need for the latest Flash player, plus you also jump over the standard Megavideo limits.

    On the PC side:
    Code:
    cacaoweb -ip 192.168.0.23 -port 80
    
    (replace the IP with your local IP)
    On the PS3 side:

    Code:
    Simply input the http://IPYouUsed:PortYouUsed
    The Cocaoweb window should pop up. It might show an error, but ignore it - it'll work fine.
     
  6. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I checked it today and it's working again.
     
  7. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Where can I download cacaoweb from? I can't find it.
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Just google Cocaoweb and you'll find it. It's a PC application that tunnels Videobb and MegaVideo videos into a custom player.
     
  9. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    I found it. Can you help me a little more though. How exactly do I access what's on my PC screen with my PS3? I have a wireless router. Does anything on the PC side need to be set up further? Sorry I'm not very tech savvy.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Like I said - on the PC side you need to run cocaoweb with the parameter
    Code:
    -ip yourlocalIP -port 80
    To do so, you have to create a shortcut and add that line after cocaoweb.exe. If you don't know your local IP, run CMD (Start Menu, Run, then CMD) and input
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
    you should be able to find your IP there.

    On the PS3 side, you input that IP and the port as the adress and the window should pop up.
     
  11. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Cocoaweb is for lames.
    TVERSITY FTW!!!!!
     

Share This Page