Noob questions on ISO

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ho1105, Dec 1, 2012.

Dec 1, 2012

Noob questions on ISO by ho1105 at 6:55 PM (856 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. ho1105
    OP

    Newcomer ho1105 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Just started jail breaking PS3 on CFO 3.55. Why are there sites that upload full PS ISO games? Can these be used to play games? Please some teach me what is the purpose for ISO games for PS3. I understand for WIi you can use the ISO and use WBFS to mount it into ext HDD. Is this possible for PS3
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    ISO is just a copy of a disc.
    It has no purpose. It's like a copy of a file you have on your computer, the only purpose is to HAVE a copy, in case you need it (backup for corrupted data, lost the first copy, etc.)
    What you do with them is your own decision.

    PS3 can play backuped games (not ISO, but extracted data from disc) from HDD, but there are very specific requirement :
    - You need an OLD PS3.
    - You need to install a custom Firmware
    - Your current Official Firmware must NOT be over 3.55
    - You can't downgrade to 3.55 if you have a new PS3.

    You seem to be already on CustomFirmware 3.55, so you can dump/extract the content of your games to HDD and play them from there, by using a Game Manage (most popular is multiMAN).
     
    ho1105 likes this.
  3. ho1105
    OP

    Newcomer ho1105 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! Seems like you can play games from backups only. Multiman dumps games as backups and not ISO. That means if your Blu-ray disc is damaged and you only have ISO on your PC without a backup, is there any way to extract the backup from ISO or transfer the ISO files via FTP into the int HDD?
     
  4. Plainscript

    Member Plainscript GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Like said, ISO is just a copy. Regarding ISO/PS3 releases: guess they (most of them at least) can be extracted on your PC/Mac/Linuxbox. After that, you should be able to transfer them to your PS3 using FTP or something.

    @Cyan: last two points are sort of true, but there are other ways to get your PS3 on 3.55 right now. Just not an easy road to follow (opening your PS3 + purchasing a programmer etc)

    But.. It IS possible.
     
  5. ho1105
    OP

    Newcomer ho1105 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. If ISO can be transferred into int HDD thru FTP, does that mean you can boot the game using MultiMan and subsequently dump the backup into ext HDD?
     
  6. Plainscript

    Member Plainscript GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes. That's possible. Some games (not sure if all are) also playable through ext. HDD, so shouldn't be a problem.
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You need to be on 3.55 to install cFW.
    You can downgrade but not all the consoles can. You need to check your minimum firmware first, and you need an old console (new consoles are not downgradable).


    I'm almost certain that multiMAN doesn't play ISO.
    You can create ISO (instead of extracted files when dumping your game), but you can't play from an ISO format, unless you are using a Cobra Dongle.
    If it didn't change, ISO created with multiMAN are still encrypted so you can't extract them on your computer.

    When multiMAN work with ISO without cobra, it's specified in the changelog ("non cobra firmware")

    For example:
    * Added support to load DVD-Video movies in ISO format from DVDISO folder (Showtime Media Player Required) (for non-Cobra Firmwares)
     
  8. ho1105
    OP

    Newcomer ho1105 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info. Just started PS3 and it is so interesting to learn something new. I modded Wii and was exciting, now moving on to PS3.
     

Share This Page