Hacking No System file found in M3 real

OzModChips

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
570
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne, Australia
XP
237
Country
Hi guys,
Ive been selling a massive amount of m3 reals (r4s are out, and cyclos are shit)
the first couple hundred have been perfect - no returns.

The last 2 days ive been contacted by 3 diff people all with the same errors

here is an example

QUOTE said:
Hello, I believe the M3DS Real that you sent (very quickly!!) is DOA. Using
a couple of known-working MicroSD cards, it cannot boot up, just saying 'No
system file found', etc. I have copied the System directory properly into
the root directory of the flash card, tried a couple of different system
versions, to no avail.

It possible that I am dealing with noobs, as its xmas and a lot of random mums and dads are ordering...but has anyone got a DOA m3 that has the same err?
 

4saken

Retired Ace Attorney
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
3,357
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
145
Country
You're probably dealing with some noobs
tongue.gif
Perhaps you can guide them through it and see what happens.
 

cray-

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Location
perth.au
Website
Visit site
XP
6
Country
Hope mine's not a dud, I just ordered from OzModChips last week and it's sitting at the post office waiting for me to pickup as we speak. Luckily I bought a cheap game as a backup in case the M3+SD card didn't arrive in time for Xmas.

Fingers crossed.
 

golden

What a Digital Dummy!!!
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
1,453
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
209
Country
United States
If there haven't been DOAs yet there probably won't be. There is probably some technical difficulty but if they are all having the same problem maybe ask one of them to send one back and take a look at it yourself so you can help the others with the same problem instead of having to exchange a bunch of M3s right before christmas which is a killer.
 

JKR Firefox

Back.
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
1,129
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
266
Country
Canada
Hi guys,
Ive been selling a massive amount of m3 reals (r4s are out, and cyclos are shit)
the first couple hundred have been perfect - no returns.

The last 2 days ive been contacted by 3 diff people all with the same errors

here is an example

QUOTE said:
Hello, I believe the M3DS Real that you sent (very quickly!!) is DOA. Using
a couple of known-working MicroSD cards, it cannot boot up, just saying 'No
system file found', etc. I have copied the System directory properly into
the root directory of the flash card, tried a couple of different system
versions, to no avail.

It possible that I am dealing with noobs, as its xmas and a lot of random mums and dads are ordering...but has anyone got a DOA m3 that has the same err?

I can almost guarantee that they aren't putting the system files onto the micro sd correctly. I had the same issue when I got my first slot-1 flash card. I was a noob...and still am
frown.gif


- Fitzy
 

tau

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
32
Country
There's not a whole lot more the G6 team could do to make the M3 Real easier to set up. Both OzModChips.com and the G6 team do an awesome job imo.

However, people still are that stupid. Sometimes you need to state the bleeding obvious to them.
 

OzModChips

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
570
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne, Australia
XP
237
Country
Well he sent me a screen shot of the file structure, and it looks like he is doing it right
so i will get him to send it back and I will let you guys know if its defective or not soon.
 

ARK6476

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
United States
I encountered the same problem when I switched to Linux. It turns out that when the M3 reads the "_system_" directory all letters must be properly capitalized or it won't recognize it. Look at the capitalization of a working one to find out how it's supposed to be(I think it's "_system_" but I can't say for sure). Same thing goes for the files/folders in "_system_".
 

OSW

Wii King
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,787
Trophies
0
XP
492
Country
i don't think thats the case. i'm pretty sure mine still owrked fine when it was in lower case.
 

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
5,002
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Portland, OR
Website
Visit site
XP
321
Country
United States
The problem with lower case letters only happens when you use a non-windows system to put the files on the memory card. The solution was to rename all of the files and folders to uppercase while they are still on the computer, then copy them to the card.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: @BakerMan Yep it was embarrassing, but I know what you did last summer, in the woods...