No slowdown on any MicroSD card - really?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by BlueStar, Nov 5, 2008.

Nov 5, 2008
  1. BlueStar
    OP

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, I've previously put it down to some kind of brain malfunction but since I got my AK2 there have been many times where I've been sure that I've been experiencing in-game slowdown in games that I didn't see on my old R4. But in the new Castlevania, on the upper outside sections of... Erm, dunno if it'll be a spoiler so I'll just say the last, largest map, where there are clouds moving fast in the background, the game slows to an absolute crawl. It's like matrix time and there's no mistaking that serious slowdown is occuring.

    I'm using a genuine Trancend Class 6 4-gig Micro SDHC card. Has anyone else experienced this slowdown in this area on the AK2 with this or any other SD card? Is it that my AK2 is in some way faulty or is the claim of "No slowdown on any card" on the AK2 website bunk?

    I can supply a save just before one of the areas that causes the most slowdown if people aren't up to that point or aren't playing Castlevania at the moment.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    team acekard fixed the speed issues with the first castlevania and other problem roms in the 4.08 loader. if you are using akaio (which you should be) drop the 4.11 loader in the ak2loader folder and then set it as the loader of choice for any problem roms in the rom properties. then test again and see if it still has slow down. also you should use the *official* sd formatter as it will add speed increases to your sdhc card. finally make sure you use what is recommened for sdhc cards. i forget, but i think its fat16.

    http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/

    goodluck!
    -another world
     
  3. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, i am sure if you tried really hard you could find a really really slow microSD that would cause problems!
     
  4. BlueStar
    OP

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aha! That's worked a treat, I was using AKAIO but assumed its loader would have the speed hacks from the 4.08 official update already. Thanks!
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the source for the 4.08+ speed fixes was not released to norm or smiths. as a result its not in the akaio loader. glad it worked for you.

    -another world
     

Share This Page