Nintendo WII - Problems with IOS249

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Lelleko, Jun 8, 2018.

  1. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    Hey,


    i wanted to switch from Dios Mios to Nintendont following a guide on Reddit.
    As stated there i need to select IOS 249 in YAWMM to reinstall MIOS.
    My problem is that i can find it in the list, but i cant select it so i checked
    IOS249 with syscheck and it told me that it is a stub.

    Weirdly enough all the homebrews that are using this IOS like GX Loader seem to work.
    I've red somewhere that the Skylanders games are messing around with this IOS and
    i should reinstall it.

    So my question is: How do i reinstall IOS249?


    Thank you in advance! :)
     
  2. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Member
    6
    Sep 12, 2009
    Canada
    Ontario
    Re mod your wii from scratch using ModMii. Not difficult
     
    Lelleko likes this.
  3. migles

    migles GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    13
    GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Sep 19, 2013
    China
    Earth-chan
    wait, what? you don't require to mess around with mios to use nintendont
    i have both dios mios and nintendont, nintendont is just an app...
    or i am missing something?
     
    Lelleko likes this.
  4. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    Is there somewhere an up to date tutorial? I modded my Wii a couple of years ago and forgot nearly everything about it ^^

    Can't i just open d2x-cIOS installer and reinstall IOS249?

    I would like to post here the link to the guide i found, but im not able to because im a new member on this board.
    Search for "A proper guide to replace DIOS MIOS with Nintendont". It's on Reddit.
     
    Last edited by Lelleko, Jun 8, 2018
  5. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    7
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    Unless you want to replace the stock MIOS for some reason just ignore it. Gamecube discs are literally the only thing that uses it.
     
    Lelleko likes this.
  6. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    Ignore what? Reinstalling IOS249?

    I want to reinstall it anyway because my USB Loader worked better before the IOS wasnt stub (less crashes, blackscreens...)

    I thought Nintendont would interfere with Dios Mios. Can i just install it, change the GC mode to Nintendont and everything works?
     
  7. Plstic

    Plstic Guru Meditation Error

    Member
    5
    Apr 21, 2010
    United States
    Milwaukee WI
    Nintendont does not need cmios
     
  8. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    I know that. The first half of the guide is for uninstalling Dios Mios:


    DIOS-MIOS (Lite) can be uninstalled by overwriting it with the default MIOS.


    Computer ----------------------


    1. Get NUS Downloader if you don't have it. Use the Database to navigate to the latest MIOS (System -> MIOS -> v10).
    Make sure pack WAD is checked on the bottom and then click Start NUS Download.

    Navigate to the folder where you extracted NUS Downloader and open the titles folder.
    Now open the folder 0000000100000101 -> 10 and copy the RVL-mios-v10.wad to the "wad" folder on your SD card.

    2. If you don't have one yet, download a WAD Manager and put it on your SD card.


    Wii ----------------------


    3. Launch your WAD Manager. Use it to install the WAD you downloaded above.
    If it asks for an IOS to use, you can choose 249, 250, 236 or generally any non-stub IOS.

    Since migles told me that Nintendont won't interfere with Dios Mios, i dont want to uninstall it anymore.
    But i still want to reinstall IOS249 since my USB Loader GX doesnt work properly without it.

    image. ibb. co/ii10iT/DSC_0103.jpg (remove the spaces)

    Will that do the job?
     
    Last edited by Lelleko, Jun 8, 2018
  9. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    7
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    Use this post from Cyan for installing d2x cIOS.

    If you want to use a WAD manager to reinstall the default MIOS just make sure the tag "<ahb_access />" is in the meta.xml for the manager. You should just be able to use IOS 58 then.
     
    Lelleko likes this.
  10. migles

    migles GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    13
    GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Sep 19, 2013
    China
    Earth-chan
    yeah nintendont doesn't use the mios at all, and like i said i have actually both dios mios and nintendont installed because why not, and dont have a single issue
    all you required is IOS 56 or 58 IIRC, but i am not sure about this last part. i remember reading it uses it for the usb drivers stuff

    exactly! just change the mode in your loader, it will look for the nintendont files
     
  11. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    Installed IOS249/Nintendont and everything is working now like a charm. Thank you very much!
    No crashes, no blackscreens and the games that usually arent working, are working now!
     
    migles likes this.
  12. Lelleko
    OP

    Lelleko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 8, 2018
    Germany
    EDIT: Fixed the problem. Just disabled "progressive patch" for that game.

    ok i still have one problem tough.

    All the Gamecube games seem to work fine but Super Smash Bros Melee won't start for me somehow.
    I get a blackscreen everytime i try to launch it. Installed it right from the disc and it worked always fine.

    Can someone give me his Nintendont setup for Smash Bros Melee? :D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice