TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED
New posts, edits, and any changes will not be saved during the transition period.
Registrations are temporarily disabled until the migration is complete.

  1. FXDX

    OP FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Nintendo Switch games error, faulty memory RAM



    2020_08_12_20_03_IMG_9280.JPG 2020_08_20_16_37_IMG_9540.jpg IMG_0083.jpg IMG_0084.jpg IMG_0085.jpg IMG_9719.JPG IMG_0086.jpg IMG_0087.jpg
     
  2. Winnppl

    Winnppl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Just watching your video haha, good job

    How did you have any idea it was faulty ram?
     
    FXDX likes this.
  3. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye *is birb*
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21,095
    Country:
    Norway
    Good job. I know how hard BGA soldering can be, you can't easily tell if there's are bridged pads underneath the chip, which could kill both the chip and the console. And those are quite a few pads which makes it all the harder.
    I would never have guessed that it would be the RAM. How did you find out?
    You probably only needed to replace one of the chips though, but I don't know how much they cost so if they are only a few bucks each it might be worth saving the trouble and just replacing all of them, rather than having to desolder the old one, solder the new one in, if it doesn't fix the problem, desolder the new one, solder the old one back in, and move to the next one etc. 4 times.
     
    FXDX likes this.
  4. FXDX

    OP FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    @Winnppl
    @The Real Jdbye, Thx !!

    Initially I thought it was from the Nand memory something was wrong, so i did a reball to the nand but the problem persisted. That's when I turned my attention to memory RAM. I found new RAM in HK at http://www.actelgame.com/en/. I bought two and they both cost me 50$. I replaced them with the old ones and solved the problem. The possibility of the problem being generated by the Tegra SoC was very small.
     

    Attached Files:

    • RAM.jpg
      RAM.jpg
      File size:
      60.6 KB
      Views:
      188
    Last edited by FXDX, Aug 30, 2020
    SheriffBuck and Winnppl like this.
  5. m3inard

    m3inard GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Philippines
    you've got very nice skills!
     
    FXDX likes this.
  6. Ttm3

    Ttm3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    @FXDX do you always replace both? Or are you able to figure out which one is bad?
     
    FXDX likes this.
  7. FXDX

    OP FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    You have no way of knowing which is defective.You replace them one at a time or both at once.
     
    Ttm3 likes this.
  8. eddie_who

    eddie_who Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    @FXDX Where can you get this wide tipped soldering iron you use for wicking the solder? Could not find it anywhere.
    I saw it in a different thread though, where you do reballing of the SoC.
     
    Last edited by eddie_who, Feb 13, 2021
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, Switch, faulty