newbie confused.com

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ftw_uk, Jun 7, 2011.

Jun 7, 2011

newbie confused.com by ftw_uk at 9:50 PM (772 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. ftw_uk
    OP

Newcomer ftw_uk Member

United States
    Hi

My tiny grandchildren keep losing the game cartridges for the ds's. My two grandaughters have a DS Lite and my grandson has a DSi. Because my daughters aren't made of money and haven't got a clue about computers they asked me to get the children R4 cards so they can keep the game cartridges safe.

I did my research first, found a supplier that had good feedback on forums like this. Went to their website and they provide loads of information about their products and a step by step guide for setting everything up so I thought "I can do this" phaaa - how wrong was I [​IMG] .

Firstly let me say I don't play games at all, so I'm a complete newbie to game consoles of any description, but I confident PC user and usually pick things up quite quickly.

So the card has come and I've started following the guide but I'm really confused.

It talks about the firmware - if I'm using a DSi it needs to have a firmware version lower than 1.4.1

So I googled how to find out the firmware version of your DS and I found the instructions but instead of giving any info about a firmware that's anything like 1.4.1 the pink screen tells me I've got a v5

I can't currently do anything with the DSi because my daughter didn't give me the charger for her sons so I'm trying to get things working with the DS lites.

I don't get it - Can someone explain where I'm going wrong?

I think I'm confused:

What I've got to do to the DS's
    What I've got to do with the card

2. Rydian

Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    United States
    The firmware only matters with the DSi, the DS Lite didn't have the firmware updates you need to worry about.

What cart did you get? There's like a hundred.

3. jurassicplayer